A little more dyeing

I did a little dyeing last night, only one skein of sock yarn.  I did mix up a few colors though, and 100_1102maybe I’ll try again tonight.  I did a skein of the  Knitpicks Bare Superwash, and I used red, azalea, and indigo dyes.  I did the warping thing and it should be self-striping.  Maybe100_1103 I can squeeze in a little swatch later on.  I’m trying some different methods, and this time I didn’t quite get enough dye on so it has more bare spots than I like.  Trial and error, plus it has been a while since I dyed yarn.  I did a cold pour and then steamed it for  20 minutes, if I had left it overnight to cool, the colors probably would have been brighter or more intense.

I also finished spinning the pastel roving that I dyed the other day.  I have to say it is pretty satisfying to spin thicker yarn and get done really quick!  I think it turned out pretty well, it is about 100 yards of thick and thin, more on the worsted side, I think (I’m not sure).  It was good practice and nice to do something different than I have been doing. 

On the knitting front, I was able to finish 3 meitered squares last night!!  I decided I would try switching to Addis to see if I was able to speed my progress, and sure enough it was fine.  I don’t know why I was having a hard time with this yarn and Addis before, it is great this time100_1104 around.  So now I have 15 out of 36 done, 3 more and I’ll be half done!  Maybe, just maybe these babies will wait until I finish the second blanket – even though mom is extremely uncomfortable and ready to have them now!  Anyway.  The Baby says good morning 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. You’re so goal-oriented! Awesome!
    So do you crochet the mitered squares together, or do some kind of pick-up/three needle bindoff combination, or what?

    Reply
  2. Oh, your dyed yarn looks delicious!

    Reply

Something to Say?

  • Recent Posts

  • KNITTING

  • Running Training Log
  • Recipage
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 122 other subscribers
  • Meta