Venting about my knee

My knee has been acting up on the last couple of runs. I felt it on my 8 miler Sunday and then again yesterday. Its pissing me off!! So here’s whats randomly going through my mind:

  • I worked too hard last Thursday when I ‘raced’ 5 miles.
  • I’ve been running too much overall, even though my body felt really good up until now.
  • I will probably never be able to run a marathon 😦
  • I have 4 races in the next 3 months that I’m signed up for, will I be able to do those?!
  • I can take some time off of running, but I don’t want to, and I don’t know how much time I’d need.
  • I really should get in to see a doctor.
  • I really should get a trainer so I can avoid injury, but have NO idea where to start looking. And is that a guarantee I won’t get injured? I don’t think so.
  • Maybe I should take low weeks every 4 weeks instead of 6.
  • I don’t even know if my knee is ‘hurt’. I feel it when I run, but it isn’t painful. I just always back off because I’m taking it as a warning sign that something isn’t right.
  • I really should get in to see a doctor.

Ugh. Well I guess from here I will take some time off from running and just do elliptical instead. I didn’t feel my knee until a few miles into my run though, so maybe low miles are okay? Maybe I’m just running too many days a week. This happened before when I was only running 4 days a week though.

It makes me so mad. I am doing SO good!! All I want to do is run and be healthy, and I’ll seriously be pissed if I can’t end up running the marathon this year. I think I will just give up for good if it comes to that.

Okay, vent over. I don’t feel any better though!!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I think rest is the best thing. Even though I am not a runner, I get Runners World magazine through my nieces girl scout fund raiser and even they suggest not running every.single.day, which I know is hard for people who love to run.

    I also bought a Tommie Copper sleeve – not sure what else to call it, but if I feel any sort of tweak in my knee, I wear it when working out, and it feels find during and after exercise.

    http://www.dickssportinggoods.com/product/index.jsp?productId=67551886&camp=CSE:GooglePLA:67551886:21738877:TEAM%20SPORTS%20ACCESSORIES&CAGPSPN=pla&CAWELAID=120138600003410416&catargetid=120138600002991400&cadevice=c

    Reply
    • I think you are right, and I’m taking a rest day in hopes that it will help. I do have a sleeve and I wore it the other day while running but it didn’t seem to help.

      Reply

Something to Say?

  • Recent Posts

  • KNITTING

  • Running Training Log
  • Recipage
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 122 other subscribers
  • Meta