A day of junk

Sunday was not a good day eating wise. I don’t know what was going on, really, but I way overdid it and ate a lot of stuff that I didn’t even really want to. It could probably be classified as a binge, honestly. Although there was not any kind of crazy thoughts or panic or major emotion with it. I’m not dwelling on it, not proud of it for sure either. I guess it happens and I’m looking at it as more of a learning experience.

I ate all kinds of stuff, including cookies, candy, popcorn, pizza…I even kept eating when my stomach was uncomfortable and full. It didn’t really give me pleasure but I did want all of the things that I ate. It isn’t even like I’m depriving myself of any of it. In fact, I think there might be too much of it around and happening in my day to day eating! I definitely didn’t enjoy it.

I was surprised at some of the reactions I physically had. I could not sleep well at all. All night I tossed and turned! I was so tired in the morning and all day yesterday. I felt like my body was overheating too. And all yesterday I was so thirsty and my stomach was kind of in knots. I ate my normal meals but really it took all day for me to feel normal again. I was not expecting that at all.

The scale went up almost 2 pounds, and I’m sure it will inch its way back down soon enough. But I really don’t want to be working hard and be taking 1 step forward and 2 steps back. Instead of punishing myself or something silly like that, I’m just going to really dial in my focus on the habits again. I do want to continue to make progress so I’m just going to keep trying.

There is another thought, that maybe it is just time for a ‘diet’ break. I wouldn’t really think that was true since for most of the year I’ve just been losing a small amount every week. It isn’t like I’m dieting hard and losing 5 or more pounds every single week. But it could just be time to not worry about it and try to maintain what I have lost for a while.

Anyway. Just going to keep going and do what I do 🙂

Leave a comment

Something to Say?

