Plans for the new year

I know I’ve been absent for a couple of weeks.  I hurt my foot really stupidly, I was on a footstool putting things up high in a closet and I kind of crashed down on my other foot while half missing the step. Hard to explain – and really stupid! I haven’t wanted to run on it for fear of hurting it more, so no running. I have no excuse really for not keeping up with lifting, other than just enjoying the holiday season – a little too much. Probably not the best idea, but I am just kind of planning what I’m going to do for next year. There isn’t that much of this one left now anyway.

The biggest thing is that I am just going to completely give up alcohol in 2015. I know I ‘tried’ this before, but I am ready to do it and so it’s on. I’m just over it and I don’t need it, so I’m kicking it to the curb for the whole year. I’m excited!

I keep thinking about marathon training but I just don’t think that it is a good idea for me – yet. I’m just going to train for a couple of half marathons this year, but really put a lot into them and hopefully improve my running speed. Then in 2016 I will think really seriously about the marathon. I want to do one before I’m 40! Because it sounds cool 😉 And I still need some redemption. I will also add strength in 2-3 times a week. Because I don’t want to get injured!

So I still am not where I would like to be in regards to my body and weight. Maybe I should just give it up after all of these years of really getting nowhere, but I just can’t. I want to focus on it this year but in a sane and simple way. I am just going to do my best to eat intuitively, really only eat when I’m hungry and eat what I need. I don’t want to do any type of binging or restricting. I figure if I just do what I do, my body will do what it does. I want to lose weight, and I think if I give up booze and keep working out all year then it is bound to happen?! I have never tried something so simple, I’m always doing so many crazy things and going up and down. I have never just consistently kept it up. So hopefully with a year of really being consistent with working out and eating I’ll see some good changes. How am I going to really make this work? I’m going to blog more. It will be a lot more food and workout centered but I think it will help me keep accountable and on the path I want to be on. So I guess that is what most of my blog will be. I’m determined to make this year one I am completely proud of in every way, and lose some weight in a sane and hopefully sustainable way too.

I also want to get back into crafting regularly. I have tons of supplies downstairs and they just never come out. It makes me sad 😦 I’m going to try and make more gifts for people this year to use up my stash and I will give away anything I don’t think that I am ever really going to use. I will just make a commitment to do something, even if it is only 10 minutes a day.

I also want to finally learn Spanish! I’ve been doing some Duolingo but not being super consistent. I could do a lot better with it. I want to do some every day, a couple of times a day. And check out some other books that I think will help me learn more too. I have plenty of tools I just need to use them!

So there are my main goals for 2015. I know it is totally cliche to make New Year’s Resolutions but I have to try.

Leave a comment

Something to Say?

