Week in Workouts #1

I’m going to attempt to try and make this a weekly thing, hence the #1.  This was a pretty good week as far as workouts go.  I tried to hit it a little harder than I did the previous week.  I was feeling a little run down/overworked so I was taking it easy.  I think it helped, so this week it was back at it!

  • Monday – I always warm up on the elliptical for 10 minutes and then do my weights.  I did deadlifts, overhead DB press, and Pulldowns.  I did 5 sets, 2 were warmup sets, and my highest weights for these were 70#, 20#, and 90#.  Afterwards I did a finisher from Jen Sinkler’s Lift Weights Faster called The Over Under.  It was lots of KB swings and squats.  I finished with 5 more minutes on the elliptical to make an hour workout.
  • Tuesday – I always do the Standard Warmup before I run.  My run was 47 minutes and 4.7 miles for a 9:40 pace.  Not quite an hour but good enough 😉
  • Wednesday – Squats, DB chest press, and DB row.  I did 2 warmup sets and 3 working sets with 80#, 30#, and 35#.  I wanted to do harder weights but it honestly is just not happening yet.  I will keep working at it until these get easier!  After this one I did a 2 mile run in 21:55 for a 10:57 pace.  I hate the treadmill :/
  • Thursday – A 5 mile run in 50 minutes for a 10:00 pace.  This one was tough because I woke up pretty hungry, but didn’t eat.  I should have!  I was uncomfortable the entire run.  Live and learn.
  • Friday – Deadlifts, overhead press, and pulldowns, same weights as above.  I finished with a workout called Sweet Cheeks.  Lots of glute work, it was tough!
  • Saturday – REST!!
  • Sunday – Long run.  I did 8.5 miles in 1:23:00 for a 9:45 pace!  I wasn’t expecting this to go so well as far as timing but I’m happy about it!  I wore new shoes that are more cushy than I’m used to, and getting used to tying new shoes just right is always a pain in the ass.  I stopped so many times to re-tie 😆  Anyway I tried to go at an ‘easy’ pace until the last mile or so and then I picked up the pace a lot for a hard finish.  I don’t feel too beat up right now and that’s always a plus!  I’ll probably feel the effects more tomorrow 🙂

I hope to get in more stretching this week or even some actual yoga.  I feel like I could really use.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Something to Say?

