8 miles and my new favorite oats

I ran 8 miles this morning.  I didn’t really plan it out, just went where I wanted to go and in the end it was 8 miles in 1:21:51.  Not too shabby!  I felt like I was going at a pretty good pace, not too hard to keep it up until around the last mile.  That’s when I started getting tired and my started to hurt.  It was chilly, 40 degrees, but I made it through without any rain as it is supposed to do today.  I hardly saw anyone else on the route I picked until I got on the parkway for the second half, and even then there was a only a handful of people out walking and a couple of other runners.  I like it when there aren’t many cars or people and I can just zone out and listen to my music.

After I got back and did some strength moves and stretching I made my favorite oats as of late.  I guess they are called custard oats because you stir in an egg toward the end of cooking.  I thought it would be weird the first time I heard about them but decided to try it anyway.  Here’s how I have been doing mine:

  • 1/2 cups dry oats
  • 1 cup So Delicious coconut milk
  • 1 T hemp hearts (just because I have them)
  • 1/3 cup canned apple slices (I’ve also used pumpkin puree, you could use whatever you want really or nothing at all)
  • 1 egg, beaten

I put the first three ingredients in a pan and bring it to a boil on medium, then on low to simmer for 10 minutes.  Then I whisk in the egg as slowly as possible off the heat so I don’t make scrambled eggs in my oats.  Back on medium low heat for 3-4 minutes and then they are good to go!  I usually add peanut butter and some kind of sweetener, today I did raspberry pancake syrup.  I really like the fluffier texture and the egg adds a little more protein and doesn’t taste like egg at all.  I have been having these almost every day this week!  They keep me full until lunchtime and they are tasty 🙂

20141130_101522

 

I know it looks like they are drowning in syrup but it isn’t really that much.

It’s the last day of the month so I need to update on my goals tomorrow!

 

Leave a comment

Something to Say?

