My Week in Workouts

I nailed it on all of my workouts this week. I decided I’d try for an hour each workout and strength two times. I also added ‘finishers’ to my strength workouts. I even got outside for a chilly a.m run. I was super sore after the weights, but things feel like they are evening out now. For my finishers I’m using Jen Sinkler’s Lift Weights Faster. Here’s what I did:

Monday – I got outside for a run/walk. I did an hour total and I think I did intervals of 3 minutes running and 2 walking. I was able to go late morning and the weather was perfect!

Tuesday – Strength. I did machine squats, DB bench presses, DB Rows, 1 warmup set and 4 sets with 6 reps, heavier weights. After that I did the POGO Circuit – it included jumping jacks, squat thrusts, pushups and mountain climbers, among others. I went 10 minutes and it kicked my butt! I still had 10 minutes left so I walked on the treadmill to finish up.

Wednesday – Elliptical for 40 minutes and then an incline treadmill walk for 20 minutes while watching Netflix.

Thursday – Deadlifts, DB overhead press, Pulldowns, 5 sets including warmup, 6 reps, heavier weights. The finisher involved lots of planks and other core stuff. I was wiped after this one! Also walked on the treadmill 8 minutes to finish this one up.

Friday – Run for 37 minutes and then an incline treadmill walk for 15 minutes. I did the standard warmup before my run.

Saturday was a rest day!

Sunday – I did the standard warmup and then ran outside for 53 minutes and 5 miles. This one sucked. I felt like I was going in slow motion and couldn’t get my breathing to feel good. I took 2 walk breaks and ran mostly on the dirt/gravel trail. It was tough, but I’m glad I did it!

I’m switching it up this week so that my strength days are MWF, and I will do my best to get outside for a run on the other days. Saturday will be my rest day again.

Leave a comment

Something to Say?

