This week’s meal plan plus easy baked tofu

We are halfway through the week but I thought I’d share the meal plan anyway, since it is one of my goals for this month to do it every week. This week’s focus has been trying to use up freezer stuff so we can get a meat CSA. It has been months since we got one, I think the last time was early summer! I’m excited for that 🙂

Sunday – Turkey burgers with salad. Trader Joe’s has frozen turkey burgers that are actually pretty good and pretty cheap too. I had mine with buffalo mayo and home canned pickles. I made tons of salad that night, enough for half a week of lunches probably.

Monday – I made an easy vegetable soup and just kind of threw a bunch of different stuff in there – carrots, purple cabbage, peppers, onion, potato, canned tomatoes and kidney beans. Plus I used up some frozen chicken stock. It was really tasty and there were lunch leftovers too. We bought a hunk of bread to have with it, and we also grabbed an organic rotisserie chicken from Harmon’s to try out. It was pretty good and will be a nice option to have occasionally when we need a quick dinner.

Tuesday – I needed to vote after work so we had to do a super quick dinner. I had already made baked tofu the day before so we just chopped up a bunch more veggies and threw together a stir-fry. We were supposed to have rice with it but someone other than me dropped the ball 😆 It ended up being really good! Just the kid didn’t like the tofu. But I’m not giving up yet.

Wednesday – We will have boxed macaroni amped up with veggies and hot dogs. Keepin’ it classy.

Thursday – Mahi Mahi burgers. This will be one more frozen thing used up. We’ll just have whatever veggies with it we feel like.

Friday – Vegetarian chili

Saturday – I took advantage of a buy 1 get 1 free sale on pork butt Saturday so we will be cooking up one of those. Probably mexican flavored for tacos.

We have been trying to like tofu for years now, though honestly we only try cooking it maybe once a year 😆 Every time has been a flop. We haven’t liked the texture or the taste. Why keep trying? I don’t know! But I finally tried baked tofu and K and I really liked it. This recipe is from The Moosewood Restaurant Cookbook by Mollie Katzen.

Easy Baked Tofu

One pound extra firm tofu
2 tablespoons sesame oil
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons ketchup (I didn’t have enough ketchup so I used half hoisin sauce)

Cut the tofu into bite sized squares (I drained mine first). Spread out in a single layer on a baking sheet. Drizzle the sauce over the tofu and bake at 400 for 30-40 minutes until crispy, turning a few times during baking. Mine ended up cooking about 50 minutes because I crowded the pan.

I think when I make it again I’ll try just marinating it in a bag first and then baking, and see if that helps the flavor distribution, but it was pretty tasty as it was! I want to try it again and use it for salads or even just snacking. I’m still amazed that it was good and now we can eat tofu!

Leave a comment

Something to Say?

