Scratch that

Ok, so I wasn’t really feeling the marathon idea after all. So, I’m changing course, yet again. I’ve decided to just do some half marathon programs until I DO really feel like I can train for a marathon again. I guess deep down I knew it wasn’t really a good idea, and I was really worried about getting hurt again. I feel kind of stupid for changing my mind so much, but I think it is the right thing to do.

So I am going to start with Hal Higdon’s Novice 1 program for a half. I did some weights yesterday and this morning I ran on the treadmill. Our treadmill was out of commission for months! We finally got a new deck and belt and put it all back together this past weekend. Running on it today reminded me of how much the treadmill sucks though šŸ˜† Oh well. It will be nice to have it as an option when it gets freezing outside! My pace is always slower on the treadmill too – today’s was about 11:30. I started with a 1/4 mile walk and then ran 3 miles with a few walk breaks. That put me at about 40 minutes and I decided to just finish out an hour with walking. I did 4.5 miles total.

I am making it a goal to do ALL of the workouts in the program. Unless I am really sick or (knock on wood) injured, I am just going to get it done. I didn’t really feel like doing it this morning, or like doing weights yesterday, but I just did it, and I feel better for doing it. Go me!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Something to Say?

