I’m sitting here wasting time on the internets instead of working out.  I ‘should’ be running, or elliptical-ing or something, but I’m not going to.  I lifted weights on Wednesday and I think I was using bad form or I don’t know what, but my knee – not the problem one either! – was seriously bugging by the end of the work day.  I even cut our daily mile after dinner short since it was feeling so crappy.  I came home and iced instead.

Finally I feel like cutting out a workout is a good thing.  Normally I would just keep going until it was too much and I was really hurt and then really screwed, being out of commission for a while.  I’m not going to do that to myself anymore.  Since my focus isn’t really on losing weight anymore, more on just overall health and well being, I don’t feel like I have to go all out every day.  There is no workout schedule to adhere to.  If I need to take a break, I’m going to.  I don’t want to be injured and not be able to work out at all!!  What a revelation. Duh! LOL  I thought I would feel better today but it still feels iffy, so I’m just going to cool it until it feels normal again.

I’m also thinking I need to change up my focus with workouts?  I don’t know.  I kind of just feel achy and stiff all of the time, so I think maybe I need to vary what I’m doing and add yoga back into the mix.  Anytime I regularly do it I feel better overall, so I’m sure it would help.  I think I’m going to get a membership to a nearby rec center so I can take classes.  I just need to bite the bullet and do it.  Yes, I could do it at home, but I’m just really not motivated to do that right now.  I like the group setting and feel like it would be more motivating for me, plus when I think of doing videos by myself it just doesn’t sound like fun.  And I only have so many videos!

I’m almost halfway into my 100 day no alcohol challenge!  As of today I’ve done 6 weeks and 3 days.  5 more days to 50!  I wish I could say that it has been great and fixed all of my problems, but of course it hasn’t 🙂  I haven’t even dropped that much weight from it.  But, I do feel better.  I like waking up in the morning and only needing coffee, and then being able to workout and feel pretty good throughout my day.  My sleep is so much better.  I am taking a supplement before bed to help me get better sleep, but it is always better without booze.  I’m finally starting to feel like I’m getting enough.  Bottom line is I don’t miss it really, at all.  Am I going to enjoy myself when we go camping in August and my 100 days are done?  Yes!  But then I’m going to move on, and keep it a NOT regular thing.

It’s kind of weird being in the place I am right now.  I’m usually doing some big thing like planning to run a marathon or starting some new eating plan, my life has revolved around weight for the last 10 years or something.  Now I’m just going through my day to day, making sure I am eating enough and getting enough sleep.  Trying to make sure I’m doing what I can for my health.  There isn’t anything exciting going on.  It sounds weird but I guess that is exciting in a way.  I know the only way I can be happy with myself is to do what I know is in line with my goals, and be consistent.  6 weeks is a drop in the bucket, the real challenge is making it last, for a year, then two, and then more.  I haven’t been able to do that up until now, but I’m going to try my hardest to make it happen!

 

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maury Hill

     /  June 13, 2014

    It’s ok to take a break. The body needs it sometimes.
    Sometimes I take a week after two months on, etc.
    Take a break from judging yourself too!

    Reply

Something to Say?

