Fighting the diet urges

I still haven’t been doing great in regards to living a healthy lifestyle.  This month has pretty much been zero exercise and too much booze.  I don’t want to keep yo-yoing so I’ve been trying to think of ways I can really make a difference in my life and health.  I know I need to make consistent, long-term changes, made by practicing daily habits.  While I want to do something challenging to kick-start change, I also know that I need to keep things relatively easy or I just won’t stick to it.  I’m fighting a lot of thoughts to start a diet or a new plan, but I know that isn’t really what I want to do.  So I made a quick list of things I could do to help me out.

And we are going to do a couple of ‘big’ things.  We are going back to the Real Food Challenge, with some exceptions of course 😉  While we do this we are also going to stop eating out at restaurants.  We have been doing this way too much, and while I do like it for the most part, it is just too much money being wasted!  Especially since I am pretty picky about my food!  So we are going to cut that out.  We are going to be really strict for the next 6 months, about 80 days longer than the 100 days we did before!  I know we will all feel better.

Anyway, here’s what I came up with besides that.

  • Aim for balanced meals
  • Eat more salads/veggie based meals
  • Eat more beans and fish
  • Cut out alcohol and other empty calorie drinks
  • Eat real food, avoid processed food (as above)
  • Quit eating out
  • Get enough sleep!!  (I’m really failing on this one)
  • Exercise daily, some days just walking will be my exercise
  • Make exercise/fitness goals – my main ones right now will be to restart and complete the Train to be Awesome programs, and to work back into running when the air gets better here.  I’m dreaming of actually doing the marathon again this year, but I guess I’ll wait to see how it goes, and if I would even have the funds to do it.
  • Do other things that I enjoy more, like knitting, spinning, reading, playing more games with M and such.

I really hope that I can start to turn things around for good.  I’m tired of ‘doing good’, or starting and stopping.  My life just keeps on going, whether or not I think I’m starting fresh or whatever 😆  There isn’t any stopping!  I have to get this through my head and just try to do my best every day.  I hope that this year I can get all of the weight-related junk out of my head and just enjoy my life.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I hear you about not doing so well with always “eating healthy.” It is so difficult sometimes! Just like the title of this post, fighting the diet urges is super hard. One thing that makes it so hard is that if the diet one is one cuts out things you love, oh gooodness, I don’t need to say anything more besides good luck! But love the list of things to help, and yes, the do help! But thanks for the read and best of luck to you! Keep going strong 🙂

    Reply

Something to Say?

