Cranberry sauce muffins

Yesterday’s eats were all about using stuff up in the fridge.  We still had leftover cranberry sauce from Thanksgiving, don’t worry, it had lots of booze and sugar in it so it was still good!  I decided to make some muffins for breakfast.  I used this recipe from Kitchen Treaty with a couple of tweaks, so I’ll share what my recipe ended up being.

Leftover Cranberry Sauce Muffins (adapted from Kitchentreaty.com)

  • 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups leftover cranberry sauce
  • 1 cup greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1 egg

Mix all the dry ingredients together, then mix the wet ingredients together, then mix the wet into the dry.  I have a small muffin tin so I filled that up and still had more so I put it in a small loaf pan.  My muffins baked at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes, and the loaf took probably 10 minutes longer.

We had these for breakfast with a little butter and they were so good!  I was only planning on having one, but they were so good I had to have another.  I also had a glass of homemade V8 and some yogurt with my canned pears.

SAM_1230

I was able to go shopping before work and hit up 3 stores, filling my entire trunk with groceries.  We were all out of salad ingredients and I’ve really been enjoying my salads, so I had to get more!  I also ended up with quite a few things I didn’t really need, but oh well.  Lunch was another salad 😆  This time I added some chicken breast that I cooked the night before, some cheddar cheese, and olive oil and balsamic.  It was really good.

My workout of the day was an hour on the elliptical at an easy pace, varying the levels here and there while watching Arrested Development.  I am on season 3 and I love it, too funny.  I hopped on the treadmill for about a half hour after that and walked at an incline.  I was able to hit my 500 calorie goal!

Dinner was chicken teriyaki meatballs, sauteed kale, peppers, and onion, and steamed broccoli.  Pretty simple, but good.  I also had 2 cocktails based off of the Rusty Nail that Michael Ruhlman posted yesterday.  I couldn’t find the Drambuie so I just grabbed some whiskey that had honey added.  I think I will try to make my own Drambuie if I have this again.  I snacked on a square of chocolate and had some ginger cookies while watching a movie and winding down for the night.

My calories were 1946, Fitbit burn was 2504, and I managed 20,636 steps.

I guess my workout on Thursday was effective, because man, my back and shoulders are feeling very worked!  I was stiff and sore and uncomfortable last night so I ended up in bed around 8:00 😆  I’m feeling a lot better today though, so I’m going to do another strength workout and just take tomorrow off.  We are having friends over tonight for pizza, drinks, and cards.  It will be fun!  Just need to balance out the rest of my day so I don’t overdo it 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Something to Say?

  • Recent Posts

  • KNITTING

  • Running Training Log
  • Recipage
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 122 other subscribers
  • Meta