Re-committing

Well, I have to admit that I have been doing really poorly in terms of my health and fitness over the last few months.  I don’t know why I do this, but I just kind of let it all go out the window since I ran the half marathon in October.  Too much beer, too much food, and I am up about 10 pounds from then and totally out of shape again.  I really want to break the cycle.  Like I said, I don’t know why I do it!  But I keep doing it, so there must be some payoff in a really weird way.  At any rate, I’m going to try committing to being healthy again and losing some weight, and hopefully if I make it more of a public thing then I’ll be more likely to stick to it.  So for now, I’m going to try and just post a daily recap of what I’m doing and how my days are going.

So, today!  I got up and had coffee for breakfast 🙂  I planned on not eating until lunch since I knew we would be eating out somewhere.  I dropped M off at school and picked up K so we could go Christmas shopping.  We got almost everything we needed to done, and around 1:30 we ended up at Red Iguana for lunch.  I finally got the mango enchiladas that I’ve been eyeing for a while.  They were good, but I got full pretty quickly in since I was having a beer too.  I ate one and 3/4 of the other, along with some chips and salsa and a few bites of guacamole from K’s plate.  I was glad I didn’t get anything bigger or heavier.

After we got home for the afternoon it was time to work out.  I ended up getting a heart monitor over the weekend and I’m making it my goal to burn 500 calories with intentional exercise 6 days of the week.  I started out on the elliptical for 25 minutes to warm up and then did my strength session.  The program I’m doing only has 5 exercises each session but with all of the warmup sets and rests in-between, it took me an hour to complete!  I still had 150 calories to go so I did some kettlebell swings with my 15 pounder.  I ended up doing 500 swings!  It took me 10 minutes active time, but I took a lot of breaks 😆  I’m not used to that!  But it felt great so I’m going to try and do it more often.  I still had about 60 calories to go after that, so I got back on the elliptical for a quick 10 minutes.  My whole workout time was about 1 hour and 45 minutes!

Dinner was a stir-fry with broccoli, peppers, onions, and beef.  Pretty tasty and I ate quite a bit since it was just meat and veggies.  Now I’m having a beer 🙂  And then I’ll be done for the day.  Tomorrow I’m going to try and get up early and walk for a bit to get a jump on the 500 burn and hopefully I won’t have to work out so much in the afternoon.  I’m planning on getting outside for a run/walk if the air is good.

I estimated my calories at about 1834 for the day.  My Fitbit steps for the day right now are 15,000.  That is the most I’ve gotten in weeks!  I’m looking forward to a good night’s sleep and another good day tomorrow.  That’s all I can do right now, is take it one day at a time.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Something to Say?

