Good and easy chicken stock

Usually when we buy chicken we get the Coleman organic brand from Costco.  They come in twos, and are normally around $25, so I want to get all I can out of them!  It is super easy to break down your own chicken, if you aren’t already, you should google it and find a good tutorial that makes sense for you.  Buying chicken this way makes it so much cheaper, and once you get the hang of cutting it up, it is so worth it.  On to the chicken stock!

I’ve read a bunch of recipes online and the way I do it is pretty much based off of Ruhlman’s, except I do mine with raw chicken.  I buy the chicken in twos and usually cut them up in twos.  We end up making oven chicken with loads of onion and garlic with all of the legs and thighs.  I package the breasts and wings up and freeze them.  We wait until we have a good amount of wings to cook those, and usually the breasts get marinated and grilled or used for stir-fries and such.  Anyway!  I end up with two carcasses and the wing tips for my stock.  Here’s how I make it.  It might not be the ‘right’ way, but I like how it turns out, and, its’ easy.

Good and Easy Chicken Stock

  • 2 raw chicken carcasses with wing tips
  • 2 large carrots, chopped
  • 3 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 4-5 cloves garlic, smashed
  • 1 tablespoon peppercorns
  • 2-3 bay leaves
  • Salt to taste
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • About 5 1/5 quarts water

Heat the oil in your stock pot, add the chicken carcasses and wing tips and sear on all sides.  Remove the chicken and add the vegetables.  You should have quite a bit of good brown bits in the pan, the veggies will cook and soak them all up!  When you have gotten all of the brown bits up, add the garlic and cook for a minute.  Then add the chicken parts back in and cover it all up with water.  Add the peppercorns and bay leaves and cook at a low simmer without the bubbles breaking the surface for 4-6 hours.

At this point I fill the sink with ice and water and stick the pan in there so I can get it to cool down faster, stirring occasionally.  I pull out what I can of the carcass, it will be hard to get at it since it will have softened up.  I pick all of the meat off and use that for chicken and noodles or whatever.  It won’t be super flavorful but it is still good, and I don’t want to waste it!  Then I line my colander with a flour sack towel (you can reuse these, just rinse out well and wash with your dish towels) and strain the stock.  You can squeeze a good amount of goodness out of that, so do it!!

I won’t use all that this makes up at once, so I fill up my freezer containers and save it for another day.  This last batch made almost 5 quarts of stock!

SAM_1134

Not pretty chicken

SAM_1136

Veggies picking up the brown bits

SAM_1137

All the goodies in the pot

If you haven’t made your own chicken stock yet, you should do it!  It’s super easy and delicious.  Plus it’s just cool 🙂

Good chicken stock!

Good chicken stock!

 

Leave a comment

Something to Say?

