Kitchen shenanigans

I feel like I spent all of my weekend in the kitchen!  I had pretty much decided that I wouldn’t do much, if any, canning this year.  Well I did a batch of beets for a friend and that all changed.  Apparently I got bit by the bug.  Saturday morning we hit up the farmer’s market and got a bunch of stuff – tomatoes, peaches, apples – and I went to work.  I wanted to do the peaches but they weren’t ready, and probably won’t be until tomorrow.  So I started on the tomatoes and made some garden veggie juice.  It didn’t take too long since I just leave in the skins and seeds.  I put it in the Blendtec and it mixes it up really well.  I got that done and still had some tomatoes left so I used them with some pizza sauce packets my friend gave me last year.

Then I did up some curried apple chutney – I’ve never even had chutney before 😆  It sounded good though and I think it will be really nice with pork chops or chicken.  I was going to quit after that but I decided to hurry and get some applesauce done before bed.  I didn’t get to bed until 10:00 from canning!

Sunday I wasn’t going to do much except a recipe for dried fruit conserve.  I ended up organizing all of my jars and doing a count, which I will not reveal.  I feel like I have a lot though 😆  That got me even more excited to fill them up, of course.  I went to the store to get the ingredients for the conserve and also to make a batch of beer.  When I got home I did the beer first, then started on the canning.  The conserve was a new recipe for me and I’m not sure I did it right, I think I cooked too much liquid out of it.  I may try it again and not cook it down so far.  It sure tastes good though!  I used blueberries, pineapple, papaya, and cranberries.  If it works out well the next time I’ll share the recipe.

So I only did those two things but somehow it took me half the day.  I finished just in time to make a quick soup for dinner.  I’m feeling very over washing dishes right now!  That is the worst part of canning and beer making.  Anyway, it was productive and I’m going to gear myself up to do some more this weekend.

999763_10201267361120087_1958577973_n

Here’s what I ended up with:

  • 17 pints of garden veggie juice!
  • 8 pints of pizza sauce
  • 7 pints of applesauce
  • 11 half pints and 1 pint of apple chutney
  • 7 pints of dried fruit conserve
  • 1 5 gallon batch of random beer 😉
Leave a comment

Something to Say?

