Food Budget Week 36

I just had the thought that I hope I’m on the right week – that would feel really stupid to get to the last week of the year and be off 😆

We spent a lot this week.  A ton.  I did some canning and we kind of stocked up on a lot of things.  I have decided that even if I don’t stick to the budget, which I haven’t most of the time, keeping a record each week will be a great resource for how much we actually DO spend and next year we can go from there.  It’s still a win!

This week we had 4 shopping days.  I went to Sprouts, Harmon’s, Costco, and the farmer’s market.  I really need to grow more veggies next year so maybe we don’t need to buy as much tomatoes at least for canning?  I really need a big plot of land like my friend who has been gifting me with all kinds of goodies this year 🙂  Anyway, here’s what we bought:

PRODUCE:

  • Apples $8.00
  • Bananas $5.78
  • Blackberries $5.00
  • Cauliflower $2.98
  • Celery $1.54
  • Corn $2.00
  • Cucumber $1.00
  • Eggplant $1.50
  • Garlic $1.18
  • Lettuce $1.39
  • Onions $11.14 – we bought two big bags at the market
  • Oranges $2.28
  • Peaches $20.00 – box for canning and eating
  • Bell peppers $3.00
  • Potatoes $6.24 – $3 was a bag at the market
  • Spinach $3.99
  • Tomatoes $20.00 – box for canning

OTHER:

  • Cheddar cheese $8.39
  • Cottage cheese $4.00
  • Heavy cream $4.99
  • Ice cream $6.18 – Tillamook was on sale, couldn’t resist 😆
  • Gallon whole milk $4.79
  • Organic chicken legs $21.08
  • Chicken meatballs $12.99
  • Eggs $3.00
  • Ham lunchmeat $7.98
  • Turkey lunchmeat $8.58
  • Chocolate bars $10.76 – B1G1 at Sprouts
  • Chicken stock $28.99 – Case sale at Harmon’s
  • Juice $15.98 – On coupon at Costco
  • Annie’s macaroni and cheese $11.16 – B1G1
  • Nuts $15.49
  • Protein powder sample packs $4.87
  • Mustard seed $3.69
  • Hansen’s soda $10.00
  • Amy’s soup $11.99
  • Tabasco $4.69 – B1G1
  • Organic canned tomatoes $29.96 – Case sale
  • Vinegar $2.89
  • French bread $1.99
  • Clif Z bars $10.79 – for M’s lunches
  • Granola bars $8.98 – B1G1
  • Hot dog  buns $3.69 – for Labor Day bbq
  • Dinner rolls $4.49 – Labor day
  • Annie’s snack mix $4.99 – B1G1

We spent $366.80 😮  I was a big sucker this week I guess!  We didn’t really NEED all of that buy 1 get 1 stuff, but it seemed like a good deal.  We are stocked up on that for a while!  Oh well, I think it will just be time to do a pantry challenge for a couple of months to use up all of the stocked up stuff.  I will be doing a little more canning at least next weekend, maybe more, so I don’t see the grocery bill going down by much anytime soon.  The bug bit me hard and I don’t wanna stop canning 🙂

Leave a comment

Something to Say?

