Chocolate Cherry Cream Scones

The other day I bought a big container of heavy cream with no plan really to use it up.  I guess that’s a lie, I was secretly thinking ice cream!  I ended up opening it to make some potato leek soup.  It sat in the fridge for a few days, I ran out of milk and had to use the cream, which reminded me I needed to make a plan.  I still might make ice cream but who knows?  Scones sounded good, but something more than basic had to be done.  Enter the chocolate cherry scone!

This recipe is adapted from America’s Test Kitchen.  Any time I’ve made it before the dough seems to dry and I have to add a bit more liquid.  Today I just planned on adding more and it worked out great!

(I know this is not a pretty picture!  Hard to make a dark brown rectangle look pretty :lol:)

IMG_5898

Chocolate Cherry Scones

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. instant espresso powder
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder*
  • 2/3 cup dried cherries, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 5 T butter cut into small pieces
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract

*I used black cocoa powder but any kind will work.

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Add all of the dry ingredients and the sugar to a food processor and pulse until combined.  Add the butter and pulse 10-12 times to mix well.  Add the cherries and pulse a few times.  Transfer the mix to a large bowl and add in the cream and almond extract.  You will probably need to work it with your hands a little bit, but don’t overdo it.  The dough will be sticky and seem like it has too much liquid.  It’s okay!  Drop the dough onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and pat out into your desired shape, I did a square.  Cut the dough into 8 equal pieces and separate them on the cookie sheet.  Mine cooked for 15 minutes and I cooled them on a wire rack.

I really like these scones!  They definitely gave me a good chocolate fix.  I had one with a smoothie after a run and it really filled me up.  Plus, chocolately.  What else do you need?!

Leave a comment

Something to Say?

