Food Budget Week 35

Really tried to do a lot better this week to make up for last week’s overspending.  We only spent $101.30!  We made one trip to the Farmer’s Market, two to Costco, and one to Harmon’s.  My awesome friend also gave me a bunch of produce from her garden!!  That helped quite a bit.  We also bought some stuff to make treats to take to a friend’s, and to barbecue at my mom’s tomorrow.  Here’s what we bought:

PRODUCE:

  • Bell peppers $2.00
  • Habaneros $2.00
  • Leeks $3.00
  • Onions $2.00
  • Spinach $3.99

OTHER:

  • Yogurt $4.30
  • 3 pounds organic ground beef $16.99
  • Hebrew National hot dogs (4-pack) $8.99
  • Wholly Guacamole (3-poack) $8.99
  • Balsamic vinegar $12.99
  • Pasta $3.99
  • Paprika $4.99
  • Garlic stuff $9.00
  • Marshmallows $.99
  • Shortening $7.79
  • Generic rice crispies cereal $3.50
  • Pumpkin seed tortilla chips $5.79

I don’t know why I bought the shortening.  It’s a horrible thing to buy!  I bought it for cookies, and I had read too that you really need it for a good pie crust.  I don’t know why I let certain things even get in my brain 😆  Plus, after I used it I was looking at the date and I think it is expired!  It’s hard to tell since the ink is all jumbled, but I think I’m going to take it back.  Other things I wouldn’t normally were the marshmallows and rice crispies.  I made these Brown Butter Rice Crispies though and they were so freakin’ good.  We found the tortilla chips at Costco and they sounded interesting so we got them.  The beef and hot dogs are for tomorrow, we will have plenty left over though I’m sure.

It was difficult to not get a bunch of stuff and overbuy, but I just kept thinking about how much we spent last week, plus there really isn’t a whole bunch of room in the fridge right now.  I’m pretty proud of us!  I hope we can do as well next week.

Leave a comment

Something to Say?

