Food Budget Week 12

We did slightly better this week, still over budget ($125) by $25.20.  I definitely tried to shop less, only hitting the stores 3 times this week apparently!  Not bad.  It’s weird because I feel like I have been using tons of produce every day – huge salads and 4-5 cups of veggies for dinner just for me! – but we have still had plenty of food in the fridge.  That is my sign that I have a problem 😆  Anyway, here’s what we bought this week:

PRODUCE:

  • Asparagus $2.49
  • Avocados $4.49
  • Bananas $3.48
  • Bell Pepper $1.40
  • Baby Bok Choy $1.99
  • Broccoli $1.59
  • Carrots $5.49
  • Cauliflower $1.81
  • Celery $2.50
  • Chard $1.99
  • Fennel $1.99
  • Ginger $.78
  • Green onions $.99
  • Kale $2.29
  • Kiwi $.93
  • Lemons $1.00
  • Lettuce $2.03
  • Mangoes $2.38 – sadly these were rotten 😦
  • Portabellos $2.99
  • Onions $2.70
  • Mixed greens $1.99
  • Spinach $3.99
  • Strawberries $4.99
  • Sweet potatoes $2.12
  • Yams $4.36
  • Zucchini $2.49

OTHER:

  • Applegate sliced turkey $4.99
  • Cashews $14.99
  • Coconut milk $1.99
  • Organic ketchup $1.99
  • Mini peppers $3.49
  • Quinoa pasta $3.49
  • Ponzu $2.49
  • Prunes $1.72
  • Rice paper $2.29
  • Salt $1.49
  • Bay leaves $1.98
  • Frozen blueberries $11.49
  • Chicken and lime burgers $3.49
  • Frozen green beans $1.99
  • Whole wheat Pita bread $1.69
  • Lara bars $5.00
  • Pomegranate molasses $3.99
  • Orange blossom honey $13.99
  • Date cookies $4.99

Looking at that, it seems like we got quite a bit of food!  I’ve been spending a little more time at Trader Joe’s, trying to figure out what are the good deals and what aren’t really.  I really like that there are smaller packages of things that only I like, so I can get them and not worry about wastage or trying to force them on M & K 😆  I should do a post about things I love at Trader Joe’s.  Some things are great value-wise, and others not so much.  If I were eating whatever I wanted right now, I would probably avoid TJ’s since I would be buying way too much stuff!

Still lots of room for improvement here so I am really going to make an effort this week to finally get under $125 this week.  When I look at our spending for this month overall though, we are doing really good.  We have been buying less random stuff, and most of what we have spent has been on groceries, which is a good place to invest IMO 🙂

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Something to Say?

