Food Budget Week 8

We did lots of shopping this week.  We had 6 different trips to the grocery store!!  I guess I have been trying to have  a little bit less in the fridge, so of course more trips were needed.  Our budget is $125 and we spent $202.40 – yikes!!  That is $77.40 over budget.  To be fair I did find a receipt that should have gone on last week’s budget total, the bill totaling $30.32.  So last week’s should have been $177.12, and this week would have been $172.08.  Either way we overspent, both times 😆

What did we buy?

PRODUCE

  • Apples $6.70
  • Bananas $2.90
  • Bell peppers $8.98
  • Strawberries $3.00
  • Broccoli $1.59
  • Cabbage $6.29
  • Cantaloupe $3.94
  • Carrots $4.99
  • Celery $10.78
  • Chard $5.97
  • Cucumber $2.68
  • Garlic $1.18
  • Grapefruit $4.92
  • Green onions $.78
  • Kale $6.87
  • Lemons $1.98
  • Lettuce $2.49
  • Limes $2.00
  • Mangoes $2.50
  • Onions $3.12
  • Oranges $5.29
  • Pears $2.84
  • Pineapple $3.49
  • Spinach $3.99
  • Tomatoes $2.37
  • Zucchini $.89

OTHER

  • Hot dogs $4.99
  • Chicken sausages $3.99
  • Turkey burgers $2.99
  • Organic sugar $11.49
  • Naked smoothie $5.99
  • Olive oil $12.39
  • Pepitas $6.99
  • Coriander seed $4.79
  • Amy’s canned soups $20.00 – I guess I was thinking of after the fast 😆
  • Canned diced tomatoes $5.99
  • Canned tomato paste $5.99
  • Canned tomato sauce $6.99
  • Pita bread $1.69
  • Tamales from the co-op $5.63

I will say that we have not been throwing ANYTHING away, save  a few leftovers that didn’t get eaten and the pulp from my juice ;).  We aren’t throwing away any produce at all, which has always been an issue for us, sometimes a big one but sometimes small.  I guess we did kind of stock up on some things, so I’m hoping this coming week I can tighten up a little and not spend so much.  I have been really trying to make my juices greener so I have been using more greens.  The juicing experiment has been good, but I will be glad to be done and spending less money!  I still have a few more weeks to go of juice heavy meals though, so I don’t see the spending going down by much for another month.  Still, not bad considering all of the produce I’ve been needing!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Something to Say?

