Juice Fast – one week in

So it has been a week since I’ve been juicing 100%!  It has been surprisingly easy.  The last time I did this I only made it a week, and it was kinda miserable.  I was trying to exercise and I think that just wiped my body out.  This time I’m not exercising at all.  I had planned on walking in the mornings and evenings but my sleep has been not so great and I’ve been sleeping later than planned every day.  But I have been working every day and that keeps me busy.  By the time we get home and I get my juicing done for the next day there really isn’t much time for anything else.  Especially if we have to go out shopping or something!  So I guess that is one thing different this time, I’m not giving myself much time to sit around and think about food.  I do still want to try and make some time for walking, so that will be my goal this week.

I also have not been hungry at all.  I’m not straining my juices this time and that seems to be helping.  I don’t know why I was so hungry before but this time is completely different.  I am drinking about 96 ounces of juice every day, which has included a Naked green smoothie every day too.  I will probably spend $90 on Naked juice by the time the 30 days is over 😆  Anyway I started out the last fast drinking the same amount but tapered off because it was messing with my stomach.  I think more is definitely better.

I took a break from juicing and for a full 38 hours I had water only.  I went from Friday evening to Sunday morning.  I mostly wanted to see if I could do it.  I’ve also read that real healing from fasting is more effective with water fasting.  If this is true then I feel like I need to try it, since I’d really like my subtle but nagging back and knee pain to go away.  I don’t know if it would really help or not.  Anyway  it mostly went okay, until I woke up at 3:00 am really nauseated and couldn’t sleep after that.  When I finally got up I felt kind of trashed.  I skipped my tea and went straight for a bottle of Naked juice that I hadn’t used from the day before.  It took me a couple of hours to finally come around, but by the end of the day I felt completely fine.  I might try this again, but only for 24 hours, and only on the weekend when I don’t have many obligations.

So far after a week of juicing I am down 6.4 pounds.  I was hoping it would be a little more but that is still great!  My hope/goal with this fast is to lose 25 pounds.  I probably won’t lose that much but that is my hope!  I figure I’ll be putting 5 of them back on after ending the fast.  20 pounds gone would just be fantastic.

I keep missing food, of course, but I don’t think I’m ready to start eating again.  I’m working on a plan for breaking the juice fast and how to eat afterward.  I won’t let over-planning be my downfall again like last time.  I’m using this challenge as a way to really try and change my way of eating and being for good.  It will be lots of fruits and veggies for a few weeks after the fast.  I think I will continue to juice for at least one meal daily, and will have smoothies for another meal.  Anyway I do miss food, but I’m just trying not to think about it.  It is just easier that way!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Something to Say?

