Dinner Plans

No, we aren’t going anywhere fancy šŸ˜‰ Well maybe when we go to Vegas soon! Yesterday I made lists of produce in the fridge, and things in the freezer and pantry that really need to get used up. We won’t be getting our meat CSA until February, but we do need to start making room for it now! So with my list of food I decided to make a dinner plan for the week. I actually did this last week and it worked pretty well, though I didn’t end up making two of the meals because earlier meals made so much and we had tons of leftovers. So here’s what I came up with to make for the week and use up some stuff.

  • Chicken legs with achiote marinade, roasted root veggies, sauteed swiss chard
  • Stuffed zucchini with beef, rice, baked yams
  • Venison bbq sliders, roasted mini peppers, steamed cauliflower – my friend gave me some bottled deer meat and I’ve yet to have the guts to use it. Time to do it!
  • Hake or salmon, couscous, whatever veggie sounds good
  • Arepas with beef or leftover chicken, salad or veggies
  • Pizza?
  • Leftovers

I did the chicken already and it was kind of a fail. They would have been great had I cooked on a grill, but I just cooked them on the stovetop and all of the sauce kind of burned. We peeled it off and ate the chicken anyway but I hate it when I have fails like that! Plus the heating element in the bottom of our stove completely busted while I was trying to cook the root veggies, so they only got cooked halfway before we figured it out. Epic fail! I also made some waffles with barley malt to use up the malt. They were not bad, but I won’t be buying that again unless I’m making beer. Too much of a specialty ingredient and I’m tired of too many of those taking up space in the kitchen.

I’ll also be making a batch of celery soup and baked potato soup, and possibly this celery salad to work on all that celery I have. I made chicken stock yesterday and that put a little dent in it but there is still 2 1/2 bunches left! Got any celery recipes?!

20130114-060717.jpg

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Something to Say?

