Corn pudding and Different Lines

Well I have already completed two of my goals for January!  I started the Different Lines pattern on the New Year’s Day.  It would be a bit farther along if I hadn’t cast on with the wrong color at first.  Oops.  But now it is going smoothly and even though mine may be a little smaller since I’m getting 6 stitches per inch instead of 5, I think it will still turn out great.  I’m using Socks That Rock lightweight in colorways Backstabber and Spinel.  I wasn’t sure about the colors together at first, but they are growing on me.

SAM_0541

I also made the Roasted Corn Pudding in Acorn Squash recipe.  It was pretty good!  I roasted some squash for soup while roasting the acorn squash, and when it was done I turned off the oven.  So when I put the acorn back in I could not figure out why the pudding wasn’t setting up.  I was about to give up when I noticed I hadn’t turned the oven back on!!  Duh.  Finally, 30 minutes later we had dinner.  My squash wasn’t big enough to put all of the pudding in so I just buttered a dish and cooked the rest on the side.  I liked it with extra, so I think this would be a great recipe for a squash that has a bigger cavity.

SAM_0538

I have decided I want to try at least 1 new recipe per week this month.  So far I have already done 2!  This morning I saw a friend’s pin for baked oatmeal and it sounded really good.  It’s something I’ve been wanting to try since K will need a replacement for his instant oatmeal he’s been having at work.  I found this recipe for Apple Cinnamon Baked Oatmeal and decided to try it out.  It worked great!  I had a little too much oatmeal mixture for my pan though, so I put the extra in another smaller dish.  I’m excited about trying other flavors out!

I will probably have another two new recipes made by the end of the week since I’m making whole wheat roti for dinner tonight, and then going to try some asian meatballs tomorrow.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Something to Say?

