On Training

I nixed my countdown, obviously 😆  I had a couple of bad days there after my last post, but I got back on track and have been having a pretty good week.  I’m down any pounds that I was up, but still not heading downward overall so I hope that will change soon.  I’m thinking of starting a new ‘diet’ of my own – fruit, veggies, protein, and chocolate!  Just kidding.  I’ve still been eating what I want, just trying to eat a lot less.  It gets tricky when I’m trying to figure out how to fuel long runs but I think I’m doing okay.  Like I said, I hope that I will start a downward trend with my weight again soon instead of staying the same or up and down the same 2-3 pounds.  If I don’t then I will try and tweak what I’m doing.

My training is going along well, the running part anyway!  I’ve not been doing strength training like I want to and have been skipping some cross training.  I want to try and do better on those.  Here’s my weekly graph from Daily Mile right now.

Getting it done. Mostly.

Today’s was 13.  I got up bright and early at 4:45 so I could have coffee and have plenty of time to get ready.  I was out the door at 6:00, and got back home at about 8:30.  The run took me 2:17 for about a 10:30 pace.  I always plan for an 11:00 pace so this is good I guess 😆  The first 8 miles were easy but after that it got harder.  I had a gel at mile 4, maybe I should have had another at 8, I don’t know.  I’ve done a handful of halfs before and never needed any extra gels or drinks besides water.  I feel like I’m screwing up the pacing so bad and I’ll never make it through a marathon!  I just don’t know what to do, but I will keep trying.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Something to Say?

