Not Smart

Well I think I have proved that I can’t run and fast.  After I posted this morning I was SO exhausted.  And I think I was dehydrated too.  I got a massive headache, had no energy or drive, and going through the motions at work took everything that was left (which wasn’t much!) out of me.  Stupid!  I had juice after my run and then more around 12:30 but it didn’t help.  I tried to drink water but wasn’t getting enough of that either.  When I got home after work around 2:30 I just crashed on the couch and tried to drink more water.  I fell asleep for maybe 10 minutes but laid there until I drank my last quart of juice around 4:30.  The headache didn’t totally go away until just a little while ago.  What a crappy day!

So, I have come to a decision.  I didn’t want to quit the fast, but I think I have to cut it short.  I was planning and hoping to make it 10 days, at the very least.  But that was with the thinking that I would be able to run 4 times a week with no problems.  I’m pretty sure that won’t happen 😆  It was kind of silly of me to jump into this when my running is so important to me – I need to keep my base miles going before I start the real training in June.  I’m pretty sure my next two runs will be shot, I’m undecided whether or not to even attempt any until I’m back to eating again.  So I am going to fast for 2 more days, through Saturday, and then break the fast on Sunday.  That will give me 7 days, which is a totally respectable effort!  It may not be exactly what I wanted to do, but it is still a major accomplishment.  And I may do it again in the future when I don’t have to worry about training.

I hope I don’t seem like the quitter I said I didn’t want to be.  I will still have completed a week, I intend on breaking the fast carefully, and I’m not going to go nuts eating any food I may have missed during the fast.   I really haven’t felt that attached to food, though I do miss eating.  Anyway, thanks for the support!  I’ll be glad when this day is finally behind me 🙂

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Something to Say?

