No Nonsense Blender Juice

I have been experimenting with juice lately.  I even thought about getting an actual juicer.  I started watching some YouTube videos with people using masticating juicers, and it just seemed like there was so much waste!  We have had a centrifugal juicer and got rid of it because of the waste factor, plus it was annoying to clean.  So I bagged that idea and just turned to blender.  I have a Blendtec which is great, but you could do this with any blender.  It just might not get as blended, but that doesn’t matter since you are draining the pulp anyway.

Here is what I do.  I use my Blendtec, a quart measuring cup, and these oversized floursack towels, each cut into 4 smaller squares.  The floursack will get stained.  All I do is rinse it out and set it outside to dry in the sun, which might help the staining.  They get washed with all of the other kitchen towels.

Chop the veggies and fruit on the small side.

Off to the blender, with water added to the 20 ounce line, or more if you like.

Blend one time on the whole juice setting, or until it looks like this 😉

Floursack ready to strain.

Pour the juice in.

Gather it up and strain it out. You’ll have to squeeze and twist and it might get messy. Get as much juice out as you can.

This is how much I got out.

The pulp bag.

Maybe a cup? Not bad!

For this juice I used:

  • 3 carrots
  • 1 stalk celery
  • 1 apple
  • 1 cup jicama
  • 1 beet
It was pretty good!  I like to add greens too, spinach and kale or whatever you have.  The possibilities are endless.  I decided to do this one today since we are not big fans of jicama straight up, and ended up with one from our Bountiful Basket last weekend.  Much easier to take this way 😆
Previous Post
Leave a comment

Something to Say?

