100 Days Unprocessed – The Last Day!!!

Well, we are on our last day of the challenge today!!  I still cannot believe that I haven’t had any alcohol (save maybe 4 sips for tasting) for 99 days!!  I haven’t done that in a very very long time.  I am so proud of this 😀

We aren’t perfect, so we did allow for some ‘cheats’.  The list is pretty small though.  I’d say that through the 100 days we had some definite cheats like:

  • Hot sauce with sugar in it – why does there need to be sugar?!
  • Whey protein powder
  • Dark chocolate bars
  • M had a little bit of chocolate stuff given to her on Valentine’s Day
  • M had a sample of some sauce given to her on a square of white bread
  • We had a sample of some cheese that had some un-natural coloring in it
  • We used our own canned stuff, jams and fruit that did have plain old white sugar in them
  • We tasted some home brews, mead and beer, but of course it was just for quality control!
  • We still used sugar, but always evaporated cane juice.  I was over-using it at first but then we really toned it down after the first month and a half.

I think that is about it!

There were also some questionable items.  I went out to eat once at Noodles & Co. and got the whole grain pasta.  I don’t exactly know what is in it, but it seemed to be the best choice.  We ended up buying Mary’s Gone Crackers since I figured I could probably make them myself.  I did make crackers a few times but these guys somehow think the store bought are better.  We also bought some Ancient Grains cereal.  Again, the thinking was that we could make it at home, so no big deal.

So what are our thoughts?

  • I learned that I don’t miss the packaged stuff all that much.  I will be adding some stuff back in, but just things like condiments and some once in a while treats, but still made with better ingredients than corn syrup and white flour.
  • I don’t miss white flour one bit!!  Okay, maybe white flour is better for roux and sauces, but that is about the only time I would choose it over whole grain.  I grind our flour and we have been using wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, and rye and we all think they are all delicious.  So much more flavor than plain old white.
  • I feel GREAT!!  Most days anyway.  I still get the afternoon crash sometimes but overall my mood and outlook on life has improved, and I definitely have more energy.  When we first started, I think we were de-toxing a little bit.  I felt yucky, depressed, and just plain foul sometimes.  After a couple of weeks it really started to get better.
  • I lost some weight, about 12 pounds.  I do attribute it some to eating better food, but also to more exercise and just plain eating more veggies and fruit.
  • M says she is stronger 😉  She wouldn’t say this but she is also way less picky.  She has even tried new things and liked them.  Definitely eating more produce too.
  • The Boyfriend also doesn’t want to add back any processed foods with HFCS, chemicals, trans fat, etc.  He says he feels better than he ever has before!!  Also, his performance has improved as far as running and weight lifting.
  • We saved a ton of money by not going out to eat.  We were going out to eat quite a bit before we started this challenge.  Now we are having a hard time thinking where we would even want to go out to eat again!  For me, I want to do it sparingly, and go to places that I think I will love and probably serve real food.

So I don’t know what is next.  We were thinking of doing some other kind of challenge, but I can’t really come up with anything good.  It isn’t really a challenge anymore to eat like this so I think we will just keep on going.  I won’t lie, it is extra work that maybe a lot of people don’t have time for.  I don’t work full time so it is easier for me.  I fit things in when I can and I make time to make things.  I totally have things down now though so that it really isn’t that hard to do the extra stuff.  I like doing it too 🙂

I think the biggest thing that we have gotten out of this challenge is that we are so much more aware of what we are putting in our bodies.  M checks every label now, even more diligently than we do.  She is always asking what ingredients are.  It is so easy to just grab something and eat it and not even think about it.  But do we really need to eat all of the additives, preservatives, colorings, and chemicals, and just plain weird ingredients?  It might be harder to make everything from scratch, but I like being in control of what I eat and put in my body.  The food manufacturer’s really don’t have my best interests at heart, you know?  I hope that from all of this we keep that awareness and continue to strive to nourish our bodies.  We are proud of ourselves for doing this and sticking with it!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Wow – congratulations! You did great!

    Reply

Something to Say?

