Thought I’d let you know…

Because I know you are just waiting to hear what I’m doing 😆  I have been counting calories again.  Yup.  Surprisingly it is not making me nuts (so far).  I find that when I amp up the vegetable intake, I don’t have a problem with staying under a decent number for me.  Since I have dabbled in fasting too, I am finding that I am just not that hungry anymore.  I can go longer between meals without eating and not feeling like I will die without food ASAP!  Something about how we are eating too has pretty much turned off the hunger button too – for the most part.  I often don’t really feel hungry, but have other symptoms like a mild headache or irritability, that tell me I might need to eat.  My stomach doesn’t even growl that much these days.  I like that I don’t really have to pay attention to my stomach as much.

So the calories.  I’m not sure that there will be a magic number for me to eat and combined with my activity will make me lose X number of pounds each week.  It did work for me before, when I stayed under 1500 and worked out whenever I thought about it, I lost 1.6 pounds consistently almost every single week.  I’d love it if that happened but I’m not sure that it will.  I  guess I am coming out of red alert mode mentally, thinking I must lose weight quickly for the marathon.  I want to lose it, but as long as my knee is feeling okay and I am dropping some pounds consistently, I will probably be fine.  As long as I am losing something I am okay.  I just don’t want to be trying and not see anything gone, you know?!  I know that when I was stalled, I was just eating too much.  Too much ice cream and too many cookies.  If I am counting calories, at least I’ll know where I stand.

I also want to track my nutrients.  I want to do better in terms of diet and good foods that will help me be a better runner.  I am not sure that this matters that much, I’d like to think that it does.  So I’m trying.  There is the magic ratio of 50/25/25, carbs/protein/fat that is supposed to be a good start for runners.  So far I’m kind of there, needing more protein and less fat.  I think it will be more of a goal to shoot for, but if I don’t get there it isn’t a big deal.  I will try.  I think it will be a good thing if more of the carbs come from fruits and veggies too.

So that’s where I’m at.  I am counting calories, but not until the day is over.  I am trying to be mindful about what I will eat, always choosing the veg and fruit first and then building around that.  Picking a protein and then some kind of grain last, if I need one.  So far it seems okay, granted it has only been 3 days.  I figure at least I will know better what I’m putting in my body, and it should help me to cut way back on the treats.  Tracking over the last week definitely has helped me do that so far.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. joyweesemoll

     /  March 30, 2012

    It’s all a big experiment, isn’t it? Yay you for staying in the game!

    The books by Judith Beck recommend a small fast to emphasize the mantra “Hunger is not an emergency.” That experience and phrase have been tremendously helpful for me. It looks like you found your own way to the same place.

    Reply

Something to Say?

