Wishy-Wash no more!

Okay, I have come to a revelation of sorts!  I have made up my mind about what to do for my weight loss.  I am not going to do Weight Watchers, don’t need to spend money on something I can do for free.  For now I am not going to count calories either.  I will count calories if I have a hard time or stop losing like I want to.  Here’s the scribbling I wrote down this morning:

  • Follow my marathon training plan!  As my training continues I will be running more and more, so if anything I may need to start adding food instead of taking it away.
  • Focus on fruits and veggies, aiming for 8 servings per day.
  • Eat balanced meals that have fruits/veggies, protein, carbs, and fat – not too much fat but I’m definitely not doing low fat!
  • Walk more often, aiming for 15 miles per week until my training miles are higher and walk on my rest days.
  • Try to eat more raw foods, like veg and fruit, and treats and snacks.
  • Limit treats to very small portions daily, or larger portions less often.  I have been out of control with the  sweets and treats, I can make them more healthy or have them less often.
  • Drink lots of water!!!
  • Continue with my strength training twice a week.
  • Track my food in some way.  I am thinking I will make a page on the blog just for that.
  • Don’t obsess!

I think I am in the right mindset right now to make this work.  Since I am not drinking, I will have the energy to keep working out, and I am also more able to keep making good food choices.  If I keep working out and eating right I will be able to keep losing.  If I have a hard time losing then I will just start to count calories.  I would like to avoid that though!

I’m excited, I know I can do this!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. celtichippie

     /  March 26, 2012

    Sounds like a good plan! I am a compulsive calorie counter, myself. But I, like you, believe in balance and substance to my meals. not some fad low-fillintheblankhere diet.

    Reply
    • I have hopped around on loads of diets and finally got around to dropping all of them last year. Thanks for your comment!

      Reply
  2. joyweesemoll

     /  March 27, 2012

    Terrific plan. I like exchange plans, but, don’t measure except for cereal and nuts. In practice, it works about the same as your “Eat balanced meals that have fruits/veggies, protein, carbs, and fat.”

    Reply
    • Thanks! For some reason I get confused when I think of doing an exchange plan, I don’t know why!

      Reply

Something to Say?

