Food & Budget 3.17

We checked out the Community Food Co-op’s Market Sale this week on Thursday.  I liked it!  I think I would do this regularly versus ordering, I guess because we don’t really use that much prepared stuff and are pretty picky with our meat.  Anyway, we got a few things and spent $34. Not bad, considering the tamales were $5 for each package.  I also wanted to try the eggs even though they are a little pricey.  I can get a dozen and a half for under $3 at Costco and I mostly use them for baking, sometimes breakfasts.  We’ll see how I like them.  Anyway!  We got:

  • 3 pounds of strawberries for $4.05
  • Cabbage $1.00
  • Celery $.77
  • Red bell peppers $1.72
  • 6 grapefruits $2.22
  • Mushrooms – white and portabello – $2.84
  • 5# bag of potatoes $1.62
  • dozen eggs $3.75
  • 3 packages tamales $16.89

The tamales were not really my idea by the way, but The Boyfriend loves them.  Not bad though, still.

We also bought an organic Bountiful Basket.  It had:

Pineapple, blueberries, apples, oranges, cabbage, green onions, tomatoes, green beans, mushrooms lettuce, bok choy, and carrots.

We also went shopping and bought:

  • Avocadoes $4.99
  • Green Beans $1.27
  • Cilantro 1.00
  • Green onions $.50
  • Habaneros $1.44
  • Jalapenos $.69
  • Org. Romaine $1.50
  • Onions $.25
  • Oranges $1.02
  • Mozzarella $7.99
  • Gallon heavy cream $10.99 (Need to make butter again!)
  • Gallon milk $4.99
  • Small Yogurt $1.59 (To make more yogurt)
  • Shredded coconut $6.59
  • Coconut flour $7.68
  • 50 pounds Kamut berries $43.95
  • Dried figs $7.99
  • 8 pack of Hansen’s Soda made with cane sugar $3.99
  • Apple cider vinegar $1.79
  • Vanilla $6.89
  • Whole wheat pasta $9.79
  • Pistachios $14.49
  • Frozen berries $10.99

Ok so this was not great!  But we did do some stocking up so I guess it’s okay, and we spent less the last two weeks.  I did buy some impulse items too.  I need to try harder next week 🙂  The total we spent on food groceries was about $226.50.  Yikes!

We also now have way too much mushrooms, celery cabbage, apples, oranges, and green beans!  I should have known better than to go to the co-op before the basket pickup 😆  Oh well!  Time to look for ideas and recipes to get them all gone.  I also don’t think I will do any co-op baskets until we go through some more of our canned fruit.  I don’t want any to go to waste, and we still have some applesauce and peaches left.  So I will probably skip next week and just do the sales flyers.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Something to Say?

