How to make the best yogurt

This is really subjective of course, to my preferences 😆  And yes, I know that there are a meeelion internet pages that tell you how to make yogurt.  Here is #one meeelion and one.

I love yogurt, especially in smoothies.  I like it on the thick side, not runny and clumpy.  I am too lazy though lately to strain it out and make it like greek yogurt!  I’ve seen websites that get all technical and tell you to sanitize and spell every little thing out for you, but I don’t think it needs to be that complicated.  Just use clean stuff and good milk.  So here is what I do.  It is super simple, BUT it is because I use my dehydrator!  I have one of these and I love it, even if all I do is make yogurt in it.  Of course you can do many other things with the dehydrator, so, totally worth the expenditure 🙂

The downside to this recipe is that if you don’t have a dehydrator, you’ll have to go somewhere else for more difficult instructions 😆

Homemade Yogurt

You will need:

Dehydrator, 3 wide-mouth quart canning jars, 9-10 cups of good quality whole milk*, 3-4 heaping tablespoons of store-bought or homemade yogurt as starter**, thermometer.

Heat the milk in a large saucepan over medium heat until it reaches 160 degrees Farenheit, whisking occasionally.  Remove from heat and let cool to 110 or lower, whisking occasionally.  This usually takes me at least 45 minutes.  Once the milk is cooled, whisk in the yogurt starter mixing thoroughly.  Then pour the milk into the glass jars.  With 10 cups of milk I get the quart jars filled almost all of the way.  Cover the jars with a small towel or napkin and secure with a rubber band.  Put them in the dehydrator set for about 104 degrees and leave them overnight or 24 hours.  I leave mine for about 24 hours.  When they are set to your liking, put them in the fridge until set.  Then enjoy your easy-peasy yogurt!

* I use the Winder (local) brand.

** I tend to buy a small container of Fage total, full fat, every 3 or 4 times I make the yogurt.  I think you can probably continue to use your homemade yogurt as a starter, but I don’t.  Sometimes the texture starts to get too runny for me after a few cycles and that is why.

 

Leave a comment

Something to Say?

