Whole Wheat Buttermilk Cake Doughnuts

Today is our 60th day of the Unprocessed Challenge!  I guess we celebrated by making doughnuts 😆  Were we the only ones on the planet without doughnut pans?  We just bought ours today, I don’t know how we lived without them!  Doughnuts are so cute 🙂

So these turned out really good.  I used this recipe and this recipe for guidance, which are almost the same except for a few differences.  I had never heard of the idea of mixing cornstarch with regular flour to mimic cake flour so I decided to do it.  I only used sugar (no honey), but also added cinnamon to my batter.  I meant to use butter but forgot to put it in!  I can only assume they would be even better with butter.  So here is what I used:

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup kamut flour
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup evaporated cane juice
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 T melted butter (ok no I didn’t use it but you should :lol:)
  • 1 T vanilla

I put the batter in a ziploc and cut off the end to pipe it into the pans.  Mine baked at 400 degrees for 10 minutes, and then I glazed them while they were still warm.  For the chocolate glaze I used about 1/4 cup ground sugar, 1 tablespoon coca powder, and heavy cream to the desired texture.  I left mine more like frosting.  We made an orange glaze with 1/4 cup ground sugar, juice of 1/2 an orange, and the zest of an orange.  The chocolate was the best!!

So there ya’ go.  You can eat unprocessed and have your doughnuts too!

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I don’t own donut pans. But it looks like I should!

    Reply

Something to Say?

