Food and Budget 2.25

Well folks, this has been another big spending week.  I guess I wasn’t really serious about sticking to the budget this week!  I won’t say that I’m definitely going to this week either.  When I’m ready I’ll do it 😆  We ended up putting in an order on Nuts.com for some dried fruit and powders, and in the interest of saving on shipping I got 10 pounds of stuff!  I also ordered an organic basket from Bountiful Baskets this week.  I just went to the store(s) too many times, and I couldn’t resist over buying.  Oh well.  We didn’t spend all of our other grocery budget so it evens out.  I still would eventually like to get back to not overspending.

So here is what we got in the basket this week:

Bananas, kiwis, oranges, mangoes, apples, a pear, romaine lettuce, zucchini, fingerling potatoes, asparagus, broccoli, bell peppers, tomatoes.  I think this was a pretty good basket.  I’m glad I was able to show some restraint with the vegetables at the grocery store 😆

What we also bought:

PRODUCE:

  • Bell peppers – $3.30 – the yellow and orange were so pretty and on sale!
  • Cabbage $.66
  • Organic celery $1.50
  • Cucumbers $.99
  • Garlic $.94
  • Medjool dates $8.49
  • Grapefruit $2.00
  • Habaneros $1.26
  • Organic romaine $3.00
  • Key limes $.44
  • Yellow onions $2.39
  • Pasilla peppers $.68
  • Organic baby spinach $3.89

DAIRY:

  • Organic butter $4.99
  • Gruyere $11.33
  • Heavy cream $11.32 – a gallon!!

MEAT/EGGS:

  • Organic chicken $22.56
  • Eggs $2.99
  • Organic ground turkey  $15.17

GROCERY:

  • Organic sugar (not that we are out :lol:) $11.49
  • Brown rice noodles $2.99
  • Coconut oil $13.98
  • Masa $6.97
  • Wasabi paste $1.99
  • Crackers $9.98
NUTS.COM
  • 2 pounds dried cranberries
  • 1 pound dried blueberries
  • 2 pounds chlorella powder
  • 1 pound dried plums
  • 2 pounds mesquite powder
  • 1 pound gummy bears
  • 1 pound candy drops
Things to note:
  • I tried the Rancho market this week because they had some irresistible prices on some produce.  I got 20 limes, 5 heads of garlic(!), 6 pasilla peppers, and a dozen really nice habaneros.  I could have also gotten a great deal on oranges and onions but didn’t really need them yet.  I will watch for the next flier and probably go there again.
  • The cream was bought at the Winder Country Store`.  I don’t really like going there since it is an old smelly building :lol:, but I wanted a lot of cream to try making butter with.  Which I did!  It worked great and I figure I saved quite a bit of money doing that.  I can go into that in another post.
  • By the end of the week we finally came close to using up all of our stored onions.  We bought a 50 pound bag of yellow onions and a 10 pound bag of red onions last October, and they lasted us until now!!  We are definitely doing that again this year.  It was kind of weird having to buy them after so long!
  • We bought meat at Costco.  I don’t normally do that, but I thought we’d give the organic chicken a try (it’s been a while) and we found the turkey there as well.  I don’t know if I’m completely down with ground turkey, but we used it for tacos and it was pretty good. The second package and chicken went into the freezer for another day.
  • Nuts.com – The candy!  I know, but it is made with evaporated cane juice and completely natural flavorings, like from fruit.  I guess I was feeling deprived?  I don’t know 😆  Anyway we are NOT eating any until after our Unprocessed Challenge is over!!

Ready for the grand total?  With the online stuff we spent just over $175.  Way too much.  But we got all of that bulk stuff so I guess considering that it isn’t too bad.  Can only go up from here!

 

Leave a comment

Something to Say?

