Meatless Monday – Whole Wheat Pasta

I have plenty of Meatless Meal nights, today just happened to be Monday and meatless.  I needed to use up some egg yolks and while my first choice normally would be cookies 😆  I decided to go with pasta instead.  I used about 1 3/4 cups of whole wheat flour, 3 egg yolks, 1 whole egg, and maybe 1/4 cup of water.  I didn’t know what I was doing, so maybe had I just not used water I wouldn’t have added another egg?  Anyway, I rolled it and cut it into fettucini and let it dry on the table for a few hours.  My cooking time ended up being about 8 minutes.

We paired it with some tomato sauce with onions, bell pepper, and fresh roma tomatoes.  I added a bit of canned tomato sauce and a pinch of sugar but it really didn’t need it.  It was sweet!  I really liked it and so did The Kid.  She had seconds!!  She also had a great time with her salad ‘appetizer’.  She rolled lettuce tacos and made carrot/avocado skewers, before she knew it she ate the whole plate-ful.  Normally she would complain a little bit about eating it.  That is one great thing that has come of this real food challenge we are doing.  The veggies are plentiful and she is getting to the point where she kind of just eats them without me having to say anything!  I love it.

If you read my earlier post you’d know I started the day kind of frustrated at my lack of progress in the weight loss department.  I had a great day compared to the days I have been having.  I did what works.  I fasted until 2 pm, went for a walk outside and walked inside too, and just ate what felt right.  Lunch was a small bowl of soup, bread with butter, a small apple, and a fruit leather for something sweet.  Dinner was a big salad plate, a small portion of pasta and sauce, leftover veggies from a past dinner, and then I went snacky.  I had two oatmeal cookies, a spoon of peanut butter, and a square of chocolate.  Now I’m done for the day, and I’ll go brush my teeth just to make sure I don’t eat any more 😉  I plan on doing pretty much the same thing tomorrow since it felt so good today.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Something to Say?

