Food and Budget 2.11, plus Utah Organic Co-op

This week we decided to order from the Utah Organic Co-op.  I have known about it for some time, but just never got around to doing it.  I figured no time like the present, since they are literally around the corner from our house!  For $26.50 and then $5.50 more for some lip balm for M, brussels sprouts, garlic, and and onion (and then a free loaf of bread), this is what we got:

A bunch of green bell peppers, roma tomatoes, cabbage, oranges, apples, an onion, mushrooms, celery, cilantro, green onions, a little parsley, yellow squash, lettuce, and cauliflower.  I think it was a pretty good deal, considering it was all organic.  Originally there was an eggplant but I traded it for zucchini.  We just don’t do eggplant.  Been there, done that, tried it, hate it 😆  The only weird thing is that there were just these few little aspargus spears and a little bit of parsley?  I didn’t fully inspect the basket before someone loaded it up for me since I was going to do more shopping.  Overall I am happy with it, I think we did get a better amount for organic than from Bountiful Baskets.

We went shopping yesterday and here is the rest of what we got to hopefully last a week!

Harmon’s:

  • Green and Black chocolate bars $5
  • avocados $3

I did go there for other things, but changed my mind so that’s why we bought so little there.

Sunflower:

  • Cucumbers $1.47
  • Lemons $1.00
  • 2 pounds organic butter $9.98
  • Organic rolled oats $3.97

The Store:

  • Chicken $9.52

Costco:

  • Baby spinach $3.79
  • Cheddar $10.84
  • 3 dozen eggs $5.98
  • Organic raisins $7.79

So in total we spent $94.33 this week on food.  Not great, but not horrible either.  In my dreams I spend $75 a week 😆  But my actual budget for food on paper is $125 per week, or $500 per month.  So this is actually $30 under!  Even if I charged $25 for pantry items I still stayed under.

I am going to try and plan meals this week, maybe I will give that another post.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Something to Say?

