What worked and didn’t work?

I was reading a message board and found a discussion on the book Thin for Life, which I haven’t read, but the point was you have to do it your way.  And a good way to find out what your way should be is to figure out what worked and didn’t work for you in past attempts to lose weight and maintain a weight loss.  So, here is what I came up with.

What worked for me:

  • Focusing on eating healthfully – a lot more veggies and fruit, more protein
  • Portion control
  • Exercising – variety
  • Focusing on the goal and measuring progress
  • Using my child as a reason to be healthy, wanting to be around for her
  • Trying to be more relaxed
  • Getting enough sleep
  • Staying active through the day
  • Not thinking about it too much, rather just doing it

What didn’t work for me:

  • Very low carb
  • Weight Watchers
  • Counting calories
  • Drinking a lot of alcohol when trying to lose or maintain
  • Not paying attention to what I ate
  • Eating lots of refined products and sugar
  • Not exercising
  • Not caring about myself
  • Spending a lot of time sitting down
  • Giving up
  • Using food and alcohol as a way to deal with emotions

MY NEW LIFE

  • Don’t give up!  This is my life, and I can’t give up on my life.
  • Do things I enjoy that aren’t related to weight loss
  • Accept and love myself
  • Make exercise part of daily life
  • Focus on eating lots of protein, vegetables, and fruit
  • Make each meal balanced
  • Eat 3 meals a day with 1 or 2 snacks
  • Don’t drink every day, or even all that often
  • Measure progress by weighing in, as well as observing fitness progression
  • Get enough sleep – drinking doesn’t help me sleep!
  • Try to do more yoga for the calm factor
  • Do a variety of activities for exercise
  • Think of why I want to be healthy – my daughter and a long, happy life
  • Sit down as little as possible
  • Don’t eat fake foods
  • Eat what I like to eat
  • Eat when I’m hungry and find other things to do when I’m not
  • Cope without using food or alcohol
  • Eat slower, waiting for the full cue
  • Eat smaller portions

Of course, being able to incorporate all of those things into my life all at once will never work!  All I can do is to try to be the best me I can, one day at a time.  Since the beginning of this year I have adapted quite a few of these ideals.  I try to make myself smaller portions almost all of the time.  I have only been eating real food!  I am eating what I like and what I want.  I haven’t had a drop of alcohol since New Year’s Eve.  Most of the time I only eat 3 meals with a couple of snacks.  And most importantly, I haven’t give up!!  Even though my weight isn’t going down maybe as fast as I’d like it to, I won’t give up.  Because I feel better, I feel like I have some purpose once again.  I don’t feel like everything is hopeless.  I’m starting to run again!  And it isn’t the running away kind of running 😆  My ‘new life’ is starting to actually become my new life 🙂

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Yay! That kind of thinking really worked for me, too.

    I don’t know why we get the impression that losing weight and keeping it off should be something you just do. It really does require the sort of thought and planning that one might give taking a over-seas trip or starting a part-time business. We wouldn’t do either of those without a plan, and some thought-out contingencies, and a willingness to make things work on the fly without giving up.

    You’re doing great!

    Reply
  1. Back to the Basics « Cook Eat Run Play

Something to Say?

