FO: Random Obscurity Scarf

M took the photo for this one, she did pretty good!  She also did the photos for my Margo
hat.  Not bad for a rookie, not that I’m any better – ha!

This one is from my handspun, a 50/50 merino/tencel blend from Blue Moon Fiber Arts. The idea came from Spin-Off magazine.  The scarf was knit from energized singles, switching from stockinette and reverse stockinette to make the zig zag pattern.  It mellowed out quite a bit with blocking, not zig and zagging quite so much.  Still love it!  And it is very drapey and warm.

  • Pattern – Random Obscurity scarf from the Spring 2006 issue
  • Fiber used – 50/50 merino/tencel from Blue Moon Fiber Arts, 8 ounces
  • Time to spin and knit – 4 months
Apparently I did not keep very good notes.  I wish I had the time it took to spin, and I didn’t keep track of needle size either?  Oh well.  It’s really a miracle that I got the thing done and posted on the blog 😆
Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. The scarf looks great, and the photos are pretty decent. 😉 I’m supposed to mention that if you’re interested, Dalan has a friend at work who owns alpacas, and they are starting to ‘harvest’ from them. Apparently they have yarn, and they will have fibers that can be spun. I have no idea what that means, really (except the yarn part). But if you’re ever interested, let me know. She’s hoping to get an Etsy site up sometime but haven’t gotten that far yet.

    Anyway… great knitting!! 😉

    Reply
    • I am interested! So will they be selling the fiber then? Thanks for the comments 🙂

      Reply
      • I don’t really know, exactly, but I can get you contact info if you want to speak/email directly with them.

  2. Also, (haha!) even if you and M wanted to come down and go with us when they shear the alpacas this Spring, we’re planning to do that, and you’d be welcome to come along. We went to visit, just to see them, over the Christmas break, and the kids got a kick out of it. They invited us to come back when they do the shearing in a few months – we thought it would make a great field trip.

    Reply

Something to Say?

