Onion and Broccoli Quiche with Kamut and Buckwheat Crust

This was a happy experiment that worked out!  I’m so glad 🙂  I knew I wanted to make an onion pie for dinner, and decided on adding a little broccoli that needed to be used up.  I used up all of my whole wheat flour and didn’t want to grind more so I thought of trying the kamut and buckwheat combo.  I think it turned out really good!!  The crust was kind of crumbly vs. flaky but none of us minded.  It was a good savory flavor perfect for quiche.  I also christened the 4 pound block of lard in our freezer for this 🙂  It shaved right off in small shards so I didn’t have to worry about cutting it in small pieces.

Onion and Broccoli Quiche with Kamut and Buckwheat Crust

For the crust:

  • 1 cup kamut flour
  • 1/2 cup buckwheat flour
  • 4 T cold butter cut in small pieces
  • 4 T cold lard cut in small pieces
  • 1/2 tsp. fine sea salt
  • 3 T yogurt – I used homemade, similar to greek style consistency

For the quiche:

  • 1 1/2 T olive oil
  • 2 medium yellow onions
  • 1 cup chopped broccoli – I buy it with the stems on and use those too
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 4 oz. grated gruyere cheese

Prepare the pie crust and chill in the fridge.  Saute the onions in the oil on medium for about 30 -40 minutes.  I was going for browned but you could go for caramelized too.  Add broccoli stems and cook for 5 minutes.  Add the rest of the broccoli and garlic and cook 5 minutes.  Spread cheese over the pie crust, I kind of press it down a little to create a nice barrier.  Add filling on top of the cheese.  Whisk eggs and milk together and season with salt and pepper to taste, pour over the filling.  Sprinkle paprika over the top if desired.  Mine baked at 375 degrees for 50 minutes.  Let rest at least 10 minutes before serving.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Something to Say?

