Whole Wheat (fresh milled) and Kamut Bread

It is official!  I have made the most awesome bread ever 🙂  I got the recipe from here and tweaked it just a little bit.  I used a new-to-me pan too, a 4 1/2 x 12, which I love. It got done so much quicker!!  The bread is nice and light but still holds together well, and the taste from the fresh milled flour is soooo good.  Even if you don’t have fresh milled flour, it will still be good!

Whole Wheat/Kamut Bread

  • 2 1/2 cups wheat flour – I used hard white wheat
  • 1 cup kamut flour (Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1 tablespoon vital wheat gluten
  • 1 teaspoon salt (I used fine grain)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 3 tablespoons melted butter
  • 2 tablespoons honey

I melted the butter in the water in the microwave, about 1 1/2 minutes on high.  Add the honey.  I mixed all of the dry ingredients and yeast in the kitchenaid and then added the liquid.  I mixed until it all came together and then let it rest for about 10 minutes.  Then just turn on the mixer to knead the bread for about 10 minutes.  I ended up adding 2 tablespoons more of flour.  You know the rest, let rise, shape, rise again.  Mine baked at 350 degrees for just under 45 minutes.  We tried to let it cool, but that never happens 😆

I definitely think we have a new standard bread recipe!!!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. This sounds delicious! I can’t wait to try it!

    In 1990, “KAMUT” was registered as a trademark by the Quinn family in order to support organic farming and preserve an ancient wheat variety, khorasan. Under the KAMUT® Brand name, khorasan wheat must always be grown organically, never be hybridized or modified, and contain high levels of purity and nutrition. Today, Kamut International owns and has registered the KAMUT® trademark in over 40 countries and is responsible for production and marketing of all KAMUT® Brand khorasan wheat throughout the world.

    Reply

Something to Say?

