Random Banana Muffins

I have buying bags of bananas at the grocery store to bring home and freeze for smoothies.  Normally I prefer organic bananas, especially for eating.  I like them before they get too spotty and the non-organic ones usually have less flavor and leave my mouth feeling coated, and well, they don’t taste very good.  But they seem to be okay left to get really ripe, then frozen, and used in bread or smoothies.  This batch was for smoothies.

Anyway!  I had 3 that wouldn’t fit on the plate so I decided to just make a batch of muffins.  I used Mark Bittman’s recipe for Muffins, Infinite Ways with some changes of my own.

Here’s what I did.  Mixed:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup fresh ground whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup sucanat
Added:
  • 3 small mashed bananas
  • 1/2 cup chopped and toasted cashews
  • 1/2 teaspoon espresso powder
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 Tablespoons oil
  • 1 cup chips – half cinnamon half butterscotch
They turned out great!!  I really was just using what was on hand and sounded good.  I would maybe even use more espresso powder next time.  It was a great way to start using up that wheat germ that has been in the fridge too long!
What’s your favorite muffin? 
Previous Post
Leave a comment

Something to Say?

