Spicy Posole-ish Soup

I’m craving all kinds of soup lately.  Last night’s was creamy roasted squash.  Today I had the fixings for a posole kind of soup.  I don’t know how authentic it is, since I just kind of threw things in, but it was very tasty!  We had it with some fresh bread and rolls with cornmeal in them.  I didn’t think it was going to be very spicy but it ended up pretty hot!

Here’s what I put in the mix:

  • About 1 pound of spicy pork sausage – I got mine from the Real Foods Market in Orem
  • Bacon fat, about 2 tablespoons but you could use less
  • 4 small carrots cut
  • 2 1/2 medium yellow onions
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 2 anaheim peppers, one was orange
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 tablespoon chicken base
  • About 3 cups of water
  • 1 pint of home canned diced tomatoes
  • 1 can of hominy
I basically just browned the sausage and then put it in the crock pot.  I added the bacon fat and cooked the peppers and carrots for a bit, added the onions and cooked for a bit, and then the garlic.  That went in the pot.  I deglazed the pan with the tomatoes, base, and water and added that.  I added the hominy and a couple of tablespoons of chili powder, some cumin, oregano, coriander, and of course salt and pepper.  I added a glug of balsamic but I don’t know if that did anything 😉  I then forgot to plug in the crock pot and half an hour later figured that out.  So it cooked for about 5 hours.  The original plan was to use beans but I ran out of room in the crock pot!  Next time I’d just do beans and no hominy I think, or leave out the carrots.  Anyway, try it, you’ll like it!
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. What’s going on « Cook Eat Run Play
  2. Food budget Week 2 | Cook Eat Run Play

Something to Say?

