Challenge Update

It’s been a busy morning around here!  I wasn’t planning to blow everything off and work in the kitchen but that is what happened.  I rehydrated some sundried tomatoes and made another batch of hummus.  This one is a little heavier on the oil and so much more tasty 😉  I also used garlic powder instead of fresh so there is a little less ‘bite’ to it.

I made a batch of amaranth flatbread to go with the hummus.  The recipe is from the book Good to the Grain.  (I love this book!!)  I like the very bold and earthy taste of amaranth but the other household members were not so thrilled.  Once we added hummus to it though, there were no complaints.  My daughter won’t eat either though, in case you were wondering.

Next was a batch of granola bars.  They don’t have any oats!  I only had barley and triticale flakes in the cupboard so that is what I used.  I added coconut, chia seeds, cacao nibs, walnuts, and Heath toffee baking bits 🙂  They are not bad!  They taste a lot different because of the no oats, but I still like them.  I’m looking forward to breaking it up over some yogurt and fruit.

I did cook up some red beans this morning and plan to mix them with barbecue sauce for dinner tonight.  They will be paired with polenta and some type of veggie.  I’ll let you know how it turns out.  If you are interested in the flatbread (you should be!!)  I’ll let you know more about it.

Leave a comment

Something to Say?

