Quinoa salad and bean dip

I finished up these ‘dishes’ about an hour after I posted yesterday!

I couldn’t really call this bean stuff hummus, it ended up pretty thin due to extra juice in the red peppers.  I get the peppers in a big jar from Caputo’s, I’m pretty sure this is the best price and the peppers are great.  I don’t really use a recipe but what makes my hummus different is that I don’t use tahini – can’t stand it.  So this one is a mix of garbanzo beans, fresh lemon juice and garlic, roasted red peppers of course, and fresh basil.  We have an open jar of grapeseed oil so I used that instead of olive oil.  It is pretty tasty!

I cooked up a batch of quinoa and made a salad much like I would a pasta salad.  I’ve really only cooked quinoa a couple of times so I was going to follow the directions on the bag.  It called for 1/2 cup quinoa and 1 1/2 cups water but then said that you should use more or less water depending on your liking.  I decided it was better to go with more of a 2:1 ratio, so I did 1 1/2 cups of quinoa and 3 cups of water with a teaspoon of chicken base added.  I forgot to rinse it before I cooked it!  Oh well, it tastes just fine anyway.  In the mix is red onion, more roasted red pepper, mixed olives, capers, more basil, and provolone cheese (also from Caputo’s and sooo good!).  I dressed it with some good balsamic and olive oil, a pinch of salt, black pepper and garlic powder.  I had some for lunch and it was good, I think it just needs to sit for a bit to bring the flavors out more.

Today’s plan is to make something baked with the pumpkin and use up the beans.  I didn’t get them cooked in time for dinner yesterday.  I plan to make some corn tortillas too, or maybe arepas – I was watching Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives last night and they were showing arepas.  But I guess the maseca needs to get used first.

I suppose that is it for now 🙂

 

Leave a comment

Something to Say?

