New Spinning Project

I have actually pulled some fiber and started spinning again!  I think it has been like

Jewel of the Nile fiber

Singles on my wheel

a year or more since I’ve spun on the wheel.  Sad, I know.  I have quite a few Spin-Off magazines that I don’t think I’ve ever used, so to kill two birds with one stone, I’ve decided to go through each one and pick a project to do.  The first one is from the Spring 2006 issue, a scarf called Random Obscurity.  I can’t seem to find it on the web or on Ravelry so I guess you’ll just have to wait to see mine (unless you have the magazine of course).  The pattern calls for a 50/50

Sections before spinning

merino/tencel blend, which I just happened to have!  I wasn’t sure but I just went downstairs and looked for something shiny and I found 8 oz. of the stuff done by Blue Moon in the Jewel of the Nile colorway.  I think I will try and just use half and save the other for another day.  I split the entire length in half, then split one of those into four lengths, and then split each of those in half.  After pre-drafting I’m randomly spinning the lengths and going for a wpi of 20, though it’ll probably be more like 22.  The scarf will be knit with energized singles, knit in stockinette for a few inches and then switching to reverse stockinette for a zig zag effect.

Was all that boring enough?!  I’m really enjoying spinning and I hope that the feeling will continue.  I have a fiber stash that is big enough to last a long time, years if I don’t do anything with it!  I’m 3/4 of the way done with the spinning.  Knitting the scarf should commence soon.

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Heather

     /  January 11, 2011

    That is very pretty yarn you’re making there!

    Reply
  1. Random Obscurity Beginnings « timetoknit

Something to Say?

