No Catchy Title

Wow, so where have I been?  I just renewed my subscription to this blog so I may as well update it.  

I still have knitting to show you, from a long time ago.  I will get to it.

I haven't been knitting because I think I messed up my right arm by doing marathon knitting.  I don't want to aggravate it so I don't knit.  It's a sad thing really.

I still do karate, in fact I got my blue belt with a green stripe last night!!  The test took 3 hours and it was very hard, more so due to me still trying to recover from a nasty cold.  It was great though, and I have already set some goals for myself that are karate related that will hopefully better prepare me for the next test.  

I have been cooking.  A lot.  I'm making bread every week and the occasional sweet treat, and trying lots of new recipes.  I made soup today, one of my favorite ones.  And since I don't have anything else to share, I will give you the recipe.  Feel special? 😉  I'm not even sure anyone still has me in their feed reader anymore, I hope so?  Anyway here it is.IMG_0598

Two Bean and Swiss Chard soup

1 large carrot chopped thin
2 medium celery stalks chopped thin
3/4 onion chopped
2 or 3 cloves of garlic minced
1 bunch of rainbow or regular swiss chard, I like the rainbow but I'm sure there is no difference
2 cans or about 3 cups cooked beans, I used 1 each of white and kidney
1 can diced tomatoes or stewed tomatoes, if I use stewed I of course chop them up
2 1/2 cups chicken or veggie stock
2 1/2 cups water
Salt to taste
1 tsp. dried basil
1 tsp. dried oregano
1 bay leaf
About 2 Tablespoons olive oil

Heat the oil, cook the celery, carrot and onion until they get soft, about 7 minutes.  Add the garlic and cook for 15 – 30 seconds.  Add everything else, bring to a simmer and cook for about 20 minutes.  I like to do the veggies thin so that they cook faster and I don't have to wait that long for my soup.  It is also good with potatoes, or even rice, in that case I'd only use one can of beans.  And if you have a parmesan rind please throw it in.  Enjoy!

Oh, and if you could leave me a comment to let me know if you are still reading, that'd be great too 😉  
Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Congrats on the new belt! And thanks for the recipe, too – it sounds good.
    Still reading, obviously. 😉

    Reply
  2. Congrats on the karate belt! Sounds like a lot of hard work.
    The soup sounds really yummy. I might just try it tonight! I have almost everything on hand already, anyways. Sounds like it makes a good portion, too. I love me some soup leftovers.
    Glad to see a post from you!

    Reply
  3. Thanks Cheryl!!

    Reply
  4. Thanks! I hope you like it if you try it. Im still reading you too, even though I never comment 🙂

    Reply
  5. mmmm… bean soup! I have some 10 bean soup in the fridge but I unfortunately cooked at least 5 out of the 10 beans into mush so its a little weird looking.. not pretty like your soup!
    (and obviously I’m still reading too..)

    Reply
  6. willemtje

     /  February 1, 2010

    Oops, that must hurt! No knitting. Could you do crochet perhaps? I sometimes have to switch to crochet because my right hand plays up when I overdo the knitting. Congrats with the new belt. That soup really looks tasty.

    Reply
  7. Bean soup is the best!

    Reply
  8. Thanks! Crochet is not my fave though 🙂

    Reply
  9. I’m still here, although mostly in a lurky way…

    Reply
  10. Cool, thanks!
    ~Lauren~

    Reply

Something to Say?

