Super Raw Summer Salad

I threw this together for dinner and thought I'd share.  We of course are doing a garden again this year, this time with mostly heirloom seeds.  I had a pretty nice harvest today!  I had a picture but have yet to figure out how to get them off my phone and onto my computer.  There was carrots, tomatoes, zucchini, and even blackberries.  Any pain in the ass that comes from weed pulling is easily made worth it when I get to have some of our delicious blackberries.  Not that I have been weeding 😉

I mostly just tossed some things together that sounded good, and that needed to be used up – zucchini.  I didn't measure so I will just guesstimate amounts for you.

  • zucchini – I used one small green and half of a larger yellow.  We are talking a little biIMG_3064t bigger than baby sized.  I did kind of a julienne.
  • onions – a little less that 1/4 cup, sliced thinly
  • green peppers – about 1/4 of a large pepper, thinly sliced
  • cherry tomatoes – a nice handful, I cut mine in halves
  • regular tomato – I had a beautiful orange tomato that was fairly large, just chopped up
  • olives – I'd use maybe 4 or 5 – I did use 7 but it was too much.  I like the jars with black and green ones mixed, marinated is even better
  • balsamic vinegar – about 1 tablespoon
  • olive oil – about 1 teaspoon
  • salt and pepper to taste – I don't use much salt anymore and the olives pretty much take care of that anyway.
  • my salad was basil-less only because I forgot to add it, but definitely do if you have it!

This made a really big bowl that was almost perfect for me since I'm eating raw which equals lots of veggies, but would probably otherwise serve  two.  I've been trying to think of improvements since I ate it but haven't come up with anything.  If you try it and tweak it up let me know!  I also let mine sit on the counter for about 20 minutes to warm up the stuff that came from the fridge.  Sometimes cold food just stinks, especially tomatoes 😉

I will have knitting content soon, but since I have become the ultimate slacker you will just have to wait.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. My improvement would be: add it all to a pot, put on stove and cook it well… then pour over pasta hehehe. I would take the raw out of your raw salad 🙂
    Cheers Eva
    PS: sweater’s looking great!!!

    Reply

Something to Say?

