I felted a sweater and lived to tell about it.

I didn't even tell you all about this one, did I?  I made Heroine.  Now that she is done, I've come to realize just how freakin' insane this knit was.  I did not swatch.  I did not wait to see how others' sweaters would IMG_2671turn out.  I put the whole sweater with no bag to contain it in my front loader.  I used 12, yes 12 skeins of Cascade 220!  It all turned out okay though, I think so anyway.  I know it's completely different but I started singing The Velvet Underground's Heroin every time I went to work on it :)  Here's the oh so vital stats:

  • Pattern – Heroine by Jennifer Lippman-Bruno found at Twist Collective
  • Yarn – Cascade 220, between 11 and 12 skeins
  • Needles – US Size 13
  • Knitting Time – November 17th to December 20 '08

I only changed one thing, I shortened the sleeves a little bit because I knew they would be way too long for me.  I was really surprised at how well the felting went.  I first did a quick wash cycle but not much progress was made from that and so I did a regular wash cycle after that.  That was all it took!  I was extremely lucky that it didn't go farther than it did, because it is almost too short.  But I am a short girl so I think it is okay, though I do wish it was just a little longer.  Nothing I can do about that now though!  I laid it on the floor in The Kiddo's room to dry for a day and a half, not a bad wait time for a felted item and one so big at that
.  The only other thing I'm not thrilled with is the seams post felting.  They are a little wierd but I'm not going to freak out about it.  The way I see it, I tested fate and made it through unscathed.  I could very well have ended up with a complete disaster.

IMG_2672
IMG_2673

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Fortune sure smiled on you, Lauren!

    Reply
  2. Well done! It looks fabulous on you!

    Reply
  3. Sometimes is it great to just throw caution to the wind and just start knitting! It looks great!

    Reply
  4. Good heavens – you’re braver than I am!
    But it worked out. Good for you!

    Reply
  5. Looks GREAT! I love it!

    Reply

Something to Say?

