Rayne Wrap Cardigan gone awry. Right?

So I finished this thing a while ago, like in January.  It is all wrong though, all wrong.  Too drapey.  Too wierd around the armholes.  Too much fronts.  I'm sure the list goes on!  I love how this sweater looks on other people but I hate how it looks on me.  I love this colorway of Noro Silk Garden and I have pretty much already decided that it will be frogged and made into another sweater.  A basic sweater that I know will look decent on me, and one not so drapey.  It was fun knitting it though, and it went by really quickly.  I think it took me a week or so of monogamous knitting.  I have to admit defeat though, and toss this one in the Loser pile.  At least I showed it to you πŸ˜‰
IMG_2641
IMG_2642 IMG_2643 
IMG_2645

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. You actually look really skinny in that.

    Reply
  2. I love the colors.. but yes, I see your point about the front. I love the back and the sleeves.. the front sort of looks like you are walking around in a blanket. This is precisely why I don’t knit sweaters.. lol.

    Reply
  3. Maybe it’s a question of learning how to wear it. It might be something you wear out for dinner with your man. My sister has a (machine) knit sweater like that, and it took her a while to learn to fling it about her shoulders in the right way. Also, maybe a shawl pin for the folds? It makes your back look really skinny.

    Reply
  4. I agree, it looks great from the back (I can see you’ve lost weight – great for you!),
    but it just doesn’t really work from the front.
    It looks like the front pieces are just too big for you.
    The yarn is great, though, but with the side and back photos, I can see how it would be wonderful on you as a cardigan.

    Reply
  5. Wow. I don’t think I’ve ever seen this one. But…wow. It’s…much. Maybe you have to be 6 ft tall to wear something like that?

    Reply
  6. Ha… it just confirmed what I thought… it is a sweater for the tall and slim of the world πŸ™‚ Glad that I haven’t started spinning for this one yet πŸ™‚ I do agree with the others though that the back looks gorgeous. I think the sweater could be ‘salvaged’ if the fronts were only have their length… so that they’d just overlap at a funky angle…
    Cheers Eva

    Reply

Something to Say?

