Sweater goal

I've decided to join the quarterly spin-a-long currently going on in the Spinner's Central group on Ravelry.  The goal is to spin yarn for a cabled sweater, I think aran weight, though mine is not quite going to be araIMG_2493n.  I've already spun up a small amount, 1 1/2 ounces in a true 3-ply, and done a swatch with it.  M
y stitch count is a little off but I'm going to go with it anyway.  The sweater I've chosen is Valpuri and I can only hope that mine turns out half as nice as Cheryl's!  It might not be totally practical but I'm going to blend my own fibers for about a 50/50 blend of Merino and Finn.  It is practical in the sense that I have a ton of the fiber and would like to use it up, and what better way than to spin for a sweater?!  I was kind of surprised at how well this swatch turned out.  I didn't do so great at blending the fibers so there were a lot of little neppy bits and the singles did not look pretty.  But I went ahead and plied and washed the yarn, trying to full it a bit while washing.  The end result was actually quite nice, and it is even soft-ish!  I'm pretty happy about it.  Now I know that this project may just take me a year or so to complete, but I'm going for it anyway.  Wish me luck!

IMG_2494In other news, I have started a new sweater.  It is the Rayne Wrap Cardigan.  I went out and used a birthday coupon at the LYS and got enough Noro Silk Garden to do it in and I'm already 2 skeins into it.  I'm making a few adjustments to the pattern because I'm afraid that it might have ended up too short in the back as written.  Hopefully it will all work out.  I love this yarn so much and I can't believe I've never used any of it until now!  I've been missing a lot!  Here's a peek at it, though I've done quite a bit more than what is shown here.

That's it for now, may the local peeps be safe today as it looks like a gigantic snowy mess out there!  I know it was last night on the freeway when it took me 3 times as long as it should have to get home from karate!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Gorgeous đŸ™‚
    I think the spin along doesn’t specify what size the yarn should be… you should just try to spin for a specific sweater pattern. I spun up some of my tonal roving, but I think there’s too much color ‘movement’ going on to do nice cabling. So…. as I’m going to use the Moorit Shetland for the Rayne project this fall, I am ordering some more Moorit Shetland from Boogie… but dyed in her poppy colorway…

    Reply
  2. Fun! I saw someone else wearing a Valpuri, but she was at the other end of a really long line at Jo-Ann’s, and I wasn’t going to get out of line to talk to her!

    Reply
  3. What a great idea, Lauren! I bigged up the swatch and it looks awesome.
    Isn’t it satisfying to use what you already have and love, rather than getting new things? Sometimes I just like to make the best thing I can with what I’ve got around, which is how I’m actually making dinner tonight, but I was thinking of knitting.
    Are you coming next week for the Anniversary Swap? Should be a good time.

    Reply

Something to Say?

