My voting post

I didn't want to add to the plethera of 'go vote!' posts around the blogosphere (though if you haven't yet and you can, you definitely should go vote!!).  But I thought I should post about my thoughts on this election day, my very first for THE president. 

So here is my voting day post.  I am an emotional wreck today.  It's a good thing that The Boyfriend is working the polls and doesn't have to deal with me all day ;)  I voted last week.  My vote 'doesn't matter' here in one of the reddest states, Utah. Yes, if you didn't already know it, I voted for Barack Obama.  I don't have to explain why, I'll just say that I can't see our country heading in the same direction as it has for the last 8 years.  So I voted for Obama.  I'm completely sold on the idea that we shouldn't be a divided country.  I'd like for all of the states to be swing states.  I think the independents don't have the representation we need, that is, there are only 2 major parties when a third of the country is registered as independent.  I could go on and on all day about what I think we should be as opposed to what we are, but I won't. 

I'm excited today, also nervous, and I can add a whole host of other emotions/feelings to the list.  I'll probably be glued to the TV for the rest of the day to see what is going on and what will happen.  Oh, don't forget fivethirtyeight.com!! 

I'm happy because there has been such a turnaround with the attitudes of people in regards to politics and to what goes on in our country.  People care.  People are voting.  Young people are voting.  Young people who can't vote are involved and trying to persuade people in their voting.  People are waiting in lines for hours to vote.  I feel like the apathy that plagued me and millions of others is gone and will be gone in future elections, for a long time.  It is too important to just sit by and do nothing anymore. 

I haven't voted until now because I felt like it wasn't important.  Like my voice wouldn't matter.  I still sometimes feel like my voice won't matter in my state, but I will keep voting.  Even if the Republican wins in Utah because he will and always has, we still need a consensus of the people.  I have to vote so that I can complain.  If I didn't do my duty and vote, I have no right to complain about what is going on. 

I took my daughter with me to vote, last week and two years ago.  I plan on taking her with me every time.  I will do my best to teach her just how important it is that she be informed and involved.  I hope when she votes for the President for her first time that the situation then won't be quite as dire as I feel like it is today.  And I hope that she realizes what a privelege and a necessity voting is. 

HOPE is a great thing, not just a slogan.  It's a lot better than fear.  I hope that tomorrow I'll know for sure that Barack Obama is the next president of the United States.  And then I hope that we can all get past the negativity and hatred that has been shown over the last few months.  I think we can.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

Something to Say?

